Walking and birds spotting Week 11

Hello feathered friends.

This is week 11 of my weekly walking and birds spotting diary. All photos were taken in the period from March 11 to March 18. Again I'll share with you photos of different bird species around the place I live in.

This week, due to the weather, I was not as active as the previous one. Of the seven days, 3 were rainy. During those days, I did not walk and watch the birds. The other days I was lucky enough to spot various birds and add a new species.

I have documented 20 different bird species, of which 1 is totally new.

Tree sparrows

While house sparrows have already largely found nests, tree sparrows are slowly occupying the settlement. They are quite imaginative in their search for a suitable nesting place. This sparrow is trying to make a nest in a crack in the wall of a dilapidated house.

sparrow_01.jpg



Common wood pigeon

They are slowly but surely settling into the settlement. Although they are wild birds, and most often stay in forests, for some reason they enjoy staying on trees in a populated area. The probable reason may be a lack of food in the fields.



Pigeons

I see wild and farmed pigeons equally often. The wild ones form large flocks, while the reared ones are seen in smaller groups and do not go far from the place of breeding.



Some of you may be able to recognize a pigeon from the second photo. It’s the same pigeon from the love story of two pigeons. Unfortunately, he is currently standing alone on the chimney and is probably thinking about his sweetheart while looking into the distance.

Magpies

It is almost impossible not to notice them because their numbers are still large. I have noticed, on a couple of occasions, that they visit certain nests. I’m not sure if they started nesting, or just checking to see if there were any eggs to eat.



Collared doves

Like most birds, I see them more often in pairs than individually or in groups. Spring is approaching, and almost all birds are starting to nest. Although they do it several times a year, this is the first after a long period.



Rook

This is the second time I've seen this injured and aged rook up close. This time I came across him in my street feeding on a worm. While the others had long since gone to nest in the colonies, he simply had to stay nearby to feed himself.



Long-eared owls

This is the only long-eared owl I noticed this week. Their roosting season starts in September and lasts till April. Unfortunately, we won't see each other until next fall.



Common buzzard

I see them less often than usual. They probably started nesting like most resident birds.



Black redstart

One gloomy day I noticed her lonely on top of a tall tree. Of course, she soon noticed me too. I still haven't noticed males of this species. I notice females much more often in the last few weeks.



Eurasian goldfinch

They have completely occupied the central part of the place where I live. Dozens of these birds can be seen on the old birches on the upper branches. Around the perimeter of the settlement, they can be seen on smaller trees.



Common chaffinch

I noticed them again, but only from a distance on a gloomy day.

chaffinch_06.jpg

Great tit

One day I noticed him in my yard. And as soon as I brought the camera we started playing hide and seek. This time the bird hid perfectly.



Woodpecker

He is constantly looking for delicious worms. It skillfully flies from tree to tree in a couple of swings of his wings.



Starling

Like other birds, due to lack of food in the fields, it moves to populated areas. It can often be seen on the tops of trees observing the surroundings.



Muscovy duck

This is most likely Elvis's cousin. I came across him near the place where I first met Elvis.



Pheasant

I finally managed to photograph a pheasant in the wild. I hope to get closer on some other occasion.



Mallards

They are still timid and fly away very quickly if they are disturbed by someone's presence. I noticed that the female is always the guide in flight and that only she announces herself, while the male follows her in silence.



Fieldfare

This is the first time I have noticed a lone bird outside the group on a tall tree.



Mistle thrush

I can add a new species of bird to the list this week as well. It is the mistle thrush. I noticed it in the forest and in the field near the forest.



Eurasian skylark

I revisited the place where I had noticed this species of bird earlier. Luckily they are still there just a hundred yards from where I first spotted them.



Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency