Fowl Neighbors

The flock of 5 chickens that my neighbor started out with this spring has been reduced to three chickens. One rooster and two hens. It's a tough life being a chicken in the woods.

Another neighbor who lives up the hill called me to complain about the noisy rooster, and she was convinced they were my chickens because she had only seen them in my yard. I assured her that I did not have a flock of chickens and in this case appearences were deceptive!

They are a friendly bunch and make themselves right to home, often falling asleep in the sunshine on my deck.

My hostas look the best they have ever looked! Chickens are great at taking care of the slugs that usually eat holes in the hosta leaves. But they will be having trouble feasting on slugs and bugs once the snow begins to fall.

It got cold enough last night to kill the flowers on my deck. Our growing season
has come to an end.

Last week-

Today

I'm already looking forward to spring!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency