A swimming eagle! Edtopic-offscreen activity

I went out this week to take a few autumn photos and stopped by one of the shallow bays of the river to see if I could get any bird photos for the Feathered Friends Community.

Getting away from the computer screen also provides me with a post for the Ecency Discord topic this week. @beeber asks us to write a post about an Off Line Activity that we have done this week. You can read about #edtopic HERE

It was a beautiful day to be outdoors and there were geese, ducks and gulls and across the river was a Great blue heron wading along the shore. I was taking pictures of these crows when, across the river I saw a bald eagle.

I was watching and waiting to see if it would come closer when suddenly it landed in the water.

At first I was wondering if it was taking a bath, as it was splashing water everywhere. But then I saw the tail of a fish!

The eagle tried a few times, but the carp was too big and heavy for it to get airborne, and using its powerful wings it began swimming towards the nearest gravel bar.

I wish these photos were National Geographic quality, but this was the best my camera could do at this distance.

I was watching the eagle eating his fish dinner, when a 2nd mature bald eagle appeared.

The eagle with the fish puffed up to look big and threatening and the 2nd bird did not approach closer.

It was beginning to get dark, and my photo quality was getting worse, and I did not stay to see if the 2nd eagle got to have any leftovers after the fisherman had eaten his fill, but for me this was a once in a lifetime experience.

A swimming eagle! Nature at its finest!

20% of this posts rewards go to @hive-106444.
Remember to support the communities that you enjoy!


plumes.png

Banner and feathers
by @barbara-orenya

80pli5.png

hive-106444

Join the FEATHER FRIENDS Community

Enter the Show Me A Photo contest by @nelinoeva

Enter the Let our Picture Tell Your Story contest by
@wrestlingdesires

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Supported by Ecency


plumes.png

img_0.7656530156159959.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency