My entry in the Featheredfriends White Bird contest: A Taste of South America Down Under

img_0.42950671596043405.jpg

Wonderful work from the @featheredfriends community for this awesome competition for white bird and who am I to pass up a challenge?

To be honest this is a hard challenge for me as in Australia most our birds are the opposite colours! Swans are black for starters. I wanted to submit our world famous cockatoo but as I had already provided a post previously about the Australian cockatoo I didn't know if it would get me in to trouble with @hivewatchers 🤣

So, I am entering my experience at Navan Park in Melton. A lake that has been turned into a bird Sanctuary with a walking bridge through it's wetlands. I took the wife and kids out to explore and lil miss decided she wanted to try and race the ducks!

the below image is my entry

img_0.14731498633195692.jpg

Upon our walk, lil miss 3 fell in love with the above white muscovy duck, which was out of place. A common bird in Southern America and Mexico the duck is an introduced species. The Muscovy Duck was introduced as a cheaper alternative to Pekin Duck which is a lot more milder in flavour and more adaptive to a number of different flavours and spices.

Lil Miss wanted to challenge the White Muscovy to a swimming race, forgetting one thing. She can't swim!

img_0.03824069403027382.jpg
Fortunately they didn't stick around long and weren't keen on getting too close to lil miss 3 and once they realised we didn't have any bird feed or bread on us they lost interest and swam off to the wet lands, lil Miss 3 was in pursuit.

img_0.8533006911015446.jpg

I struggled to keep up with the speed at which lol miss 3 chased the birds across the bridge, mum had to run after her.

img_0.2096215123761914.jpg

Just across the board walk, across the river on a small lil island the White Muscovy retreated. With them was a Male Mallard, you can tell by the green colour. A duck ripe for the eating, just as delicious as a Peking Duck.

Have a wonderful day everyone I wish you all the best in the contest, if it's your first engagement to featheredfriends Welcome! I'll see you around the nest some time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency