SMAP Contest Round 163 - Birds Of A Feather!

Hello feathered friends trust you are doing great. It's another week again for us to share our feathered photos and good a thing our nelliova was kind enough to give us a free theme this time around.

I'll be sharing photos of these birds which I captured today along my street - Stallion Road, Aba, Nigeria, as I was walking home

I don't know if I'm right or wrong but these birds look like the "black phoebe". Thought it was only females that bear the name phoebe, didn't know birds do too, hehehe.
Just like I said I'm not so sure if they are actually what I think and I wouldn't mind you telling me which they are if you do have an idea.


That non withstanding, there are quite some things to note about the black phoebe so that you can easily recognize them when you see them. Grey or sooty black body and white belly, long tails plus short beaks. They thrive around humans that's why you can see them easily walking around your compound picking insects to feed. They can equally build nests under the eaves of a building.
Finally if you hear a shrill, scratchy chirp around you, just know that it's the black phoebe because that's how they call out to each other.

I has just finished capturing this one when the second bird perched at the other side of the electricity cable


You can see them up there on the electric cables. I actually took the shots with my phone and I had to zoom in so I can get closer shots but even at that, they aren't so clear - this is the time having a camera comes in very much handy.


It seems like the one on the right noticed that I was capturing them as it changed its position to side view for a nice shot, lol.


Now it's looking down, I can bet that it knew that I was there, hehehe.


Here one of them left it's position and moved to perch on the pole itself nearer the other one.


Snapped this one from another angle.

Thank you for reading, I hope to write here again and would love to see you.



Still the #threadsaddict 😂

All Images Belong To Me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency