Feathered Friends Contest Entry Round 75

Here is my entry for the Feathered Friends SMAP contest round 75, Feathers.
While many are showing a macro feather, I thought I would share one a little different. Not sure what type of bird they belong to, but look pretty large.

It's sad, but yes a bird sacrificed itself for this photo contest. Well ok, not really, but still sad that something had this one donate way too many feathers.

There are bobcats, coyotes, fox in the area, so I am guessing one of the above had a nice dinner. And so continues the circle of life. I found this on one of my woods walks last fall.
Here is the full view uncropped version. Quite the massacre. I'm pretty sure our friend didn't survive this one. I'm not sure how something sneaks up close enough to pounce on a wild bird like that, I know that my stalking skills are not up to that level.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency