Feathered Friends - Round 41 - Raptors !!

This week's hunt for #featheredfriends is raptors or birds in prey like eagles, falcons, hawks and a few others not to mention them all and I was actually waiting on these particular types of hunting bird theme to turn up here, because only a few weeks ago, I was going through my archive of Koh Samui Island vacation and I remembered I had photographed a Goshawk on Chaweng Beach, it was common to see different types of Raptors birds on Koh Samui Island often when we were out hiking around in the mountains we would see them soaring and gliding above us but always to high, to try and photograph them but occasionally you would get some young Thai guys walking along the beaches with either Sea Eagles or Hawks on there perching on there shoulders were they would allow you to take photos of them at a small fee and I remembered, I had taken these photos of this Goshawk that use to be perched on this circular steel rod out front of this restaurant-bar on Chaweng beach and he loved the attention well, I finally found them in my archive so now, I have a chance to show off this beautiful Goshawk, this is for you @nelinoeva I know you love these guys.


hawk_5u.jpg

hawk_1u.jpg

hawk_4u.jpg

hawk_6u.jpg

This Goshawk was actually tamed and they are not easy to train you need to spend many hours with them constantly reminding them, there daily manning otherwise they lose their training very quickly but I was surprised to see this one spread his wings fly away do his bit of bird watching over the ocean and return back to his perch. They are really a lovely bird with beautiful marking, they have broad wings, sharp talons and yellow legs normally they have a lifespan on average of 7 years and the female Goshawk is generally larger than the male Goshawk. One think, I did notice this Goshawk seemed very happy and content to be with his owner otherwise he would not have come back to his perch and he flew away several times and came back.


hawk_10u.jpg

color_line_4.gif

y2ixprrknsnseh3nul6kubitjtxrc5jz3motqfefut2a2.png

Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 41 by @nelinoeva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency