The birds in the yard #1 - Zebra Doves

Hey Hive! Lately I’ve been looking around the garden more and more. There are many creatures roaming around other than our 5, soon to be 6 dogs. I see so many birds everyday so I decided I’ll take my camera and chase them around quietly and learn about them since I have no idea what any of them actually are. Today's subject are going to be the Zebra Doves.

Zebra Doves

These little birds are maybe the most commonly seen bird around Bangkok. They hang about everywhere and are often seen at least in pairs. If any of you remember my last post from the garden - there was a doves nest right underneath my balcony.

DSCF1292.jpg

DSCF1297.jpg

DSCF1294.jpg
These three were quite the posers yesterday. They were a bit scared of me when I was trying to get closer but seemed curious enough to stay for some pictures.

These birds are also known as barred ground doves. Their singing is also quite pleasant.

DSCF1337.jpg

DSCF1339.jpg

DSCF1340.jpg
From what I read, they mostly eat stuff from the ground like seeds so you can often find them picking things in the grass.

DSCF1342.jpg
I was lucky enough to catch this male trying to attract the female infront. I think I spooked them though so this play was very brief and they ran away after I snapped a few photos.

DSCF1305.jpg

DSCF1307.jpg
Here's the curious trio again. They were quite steady while I was walking around and taking pictures from different angles.

DSCF1308.jpg
They finally spread around and I managed to follow one on a tree on the other side of the garden.

DSCF1315.jpg

DSCF1316.jpg
This one flew pretty far and started plucking it's feathers at a fair distance away.

DSCF1301.jpg

DSCF1299.jpg

DSCF1300.jpg
Okay I know this one isn't a Zebra Dove but it flew in the garden as I was chasing them and immediately caught my attention. It does look like a pigeon and it probably is (I'm really clueless when it comes to birds). I just couldn't miss it with how vibrant it's colors were.

There are so many bird species I've spotted in the past couple of days flying around the trees in our yard. I'm actively going out in the mornings and afternoon to look for new ones and take more photos. Think I may have gotten hooked to this bird watching thing. I might become a bit more present in the community while I'm stuck at home without being able to travel. :)

Hope you enjoyed the photos and to see you again soon!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency