The Olive Thrush (Turdus olivaceus) Feeding Her Baby Insects and Berries

There are so many different types of birds. I am an amateur bird watcher and photographer and I have picked up on the sounds of the birds and their behaviour. I heard the calls of a particular bird at 4 am in the morning and thought it to be the Jan Frederic or Cape Robin Chat (my previous post). To my delight, it was a totally different bird I never even knew existed or was so prevalent in my garden! I always thought this bird was the Cape Robin Chat; both of them are ground-dwelling birds. But after studying this weeks photographs, I saw it was the Olive Thrush! And listening to some YouTube videos of the Olive Thrush's calls, I can say now that it is this bird that calls in the early mornings!

I was so lucky to capture these photographs because this friend is truly camera shy. Every time I work in the garden, I see them (the Olive Thrush) and the Cape Robin Chat. They love the reworked ground because they eat the bugs and spiders. In one of the photographs below, I think you can make out an insect, maybe it is a spider! But in the other one, you can see her feed her baby with a berry of some sort. Please enjoy these photographs of a beautiful and very shy friend! (P.S. I am going to post the photographs chronologically (except the first one) to show the moment the mommy bird fed her baby!)

_DSC6109.JPG

Mommy Feeding her Baby

_DSC6061.JPG

_DSC6062.JPG

_DSC6063.JPG

_DSC6079.JPG

_DSC6082.JPG

_DSC6083.JPG

_DSC6085.JPG

_DSC6106.JPG

_DSC6108.JPG

_DSC6109.JPG

Some Other Shots of Mommy and her Baby

_DSC6057.JPG

2.JPG

_DSC6044.JPG

_DSC6047.JPG

_DSC6050.JPG

_DSC6117.JPG

1.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency