The Grey heron (Ardea cinerea): An unusual visitor

This week the cold weather is back. A day before the rains hit us again, and possibly snow in the mountains, an unusual visitor arrived in the garden, or close by. The Grey Heron flew in from one of the lakes or dams and sat perched on top of one of the trees in the garden of a neighbor. I have seen various of these bird friends on my walk close to the river and dam, and on the golf course, but I have never seen one of them in the garden. After arriving home from the shops, I saw this big and majestic bird flapping its wings before it sat on the top of the tree. I ran into the house to get my camera and to get as close as possible to it. I snapped a couple of photographs before it flew away. I managed to get some images of it flying as well. Please enjoy these images of this majestic bird. Stay safe and warm if the winter is with you as well!

The Shots

_DSC8144.JPG

_DSC8147.JPG

_DSC8146.JPG

The Artistic B&W Photograph

_DSC8145.JPG

The Attempts

_DSC8142.JPG

_DSC8130.JPG

_DSC8138.JPG

_DSC8139.JPG

_DSC8141.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency