More Spying on the Karoo Thrush and Other Friends with Some Usual Musings

The days seem to fly past me faster than the birds fly away when I get my camera. I have no idea where this year has gone, so much has happened, yet I feel like I did not get to anything. This week I heard that I will be giving the class I have helped assist for so many years. I guess persistence and hard work pay off after some time. I also got the first rejection slip of the year this morning. I knew I would not get in, but one always hopes for some reason. But amidst all of these academic shenanigans, the birds keep on coming by. And I keep on spying on them through my window. Do they know that I can see them?

My newest friend, the Karoo thrush (Turdus smithi) visits every morning and afternoon. Sometimes I am quick enough with the camera to find it perched on top of the table. Sometimes it searches for bugs on the edge where the grass and pavement meet.

I wonder if they can see me? But o they know that I am watching them for as soon as I go outside they fly away. I have managed to capture some images of them, but it is as if they know I want to take some photographs and they are just shy.

But he/she is a lovely friend. Its eyes are always luring me in and when the autofocus on my old camera singles onto the eye I feel childlike joy! It is really beautiful but scary at the same time.

I caught this one mid-scratch. The others were not so good, too blurry. But I am sure the hot summer sun is also felt and appreciated by them. I know for sure that in colder afternoons the sun is golden.

The poor house sparrow (Passer domesticus) flies in groups and sometimes they sit 10 strong on the grass. I wonder if they eat the seeds or if there are small bugs in the grass. Such a small friend, but they can chatter so loud!

And for the first time, I saw my old friend from my hometown, the Cape wagtail (Motacilla capensis). They always dance so happily and it looks like they are generally just so happy.

And then the Indian myna (Acridotheres tristis). What a loud talker. I think they are a pest in this area, as they are not indigenous. But they are so beautiful in their own way. When they fly their white feathers show and it is just a beautiful sight. I wish for the day that I can catch them mid-flight.

They have a very "cocky" attitude, and this picture reminds me something of a Michael Jackson move. They are really some strange birds. They hop hop hop about rather than fly and they walk like they have a sore leg. It is very strange, to be honest.

I hope you enjoyed the musings and photographs. The birds are surely my highlight of the day, especially after reading countless papers and book chapters. My mind is again overflowing with words and I just needed a break. I will now "log off" and try to not dream of philosophical constructs and so on. All of the photographs are my own and the musings as well. Happy birding, and stay safe.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency