Chasing the Malachite Sunbird Along the Coast

Living in the coastal areas, you are always rewarded with the beauty of the flora but also the rich bird life. One such spectacular bird is the malachite sunbird (Nectarinia famosa). This is only the second time I have spotted this lovely bird. I have seen the Cape Sugar bird and the southern double-collared sunbird many times. Of all the sugar and sunbirds, I think this one is one of the most beautiful.

With its long bead and colorful feathers, I could not help but run after it with my camera. I was lucky that it stayed in the garden for a while. I am sure it got some nectar and nice bugs! The garden is full of different insects, especially butterflies. The cool summer breeze from the ocean surely helps to keep things from overheating.

It was very quick, and another sunbird arrives! I am not sure if it is a female or male. They quickly fly away in a dogfight style, you cannot believe how quickly they fly away and in that style. It is something to witness.

Not long afterward, he comes back and waits on one of the dead palm tree stems. Perched high, you can see the lovely colors of his feathers reflect in the sun.

Almost as if it knows, it turns its belly toward the sun so that the feathers reflect even brighter and more beautifully.

I can only imagine the first time humans saw this amazing bird. It surely is made of gold! One might think someone shouted. Sad that some people might have caught it in expectation of just that. One never knows with humans and our own folly.

Alas, the beauty is luckily still with us. With humans destroying wild habitats faster than ever, one might wonder how long these stunning birds will still be with us. It is not a nice thought, but one that we need to have from time to time. Think about all the nice things you can buy over the internet or in the mall, and then think again about these amazing creatures. Is that extra shop for your convenience really necessary?

Before I go on about this on my usual tangent, let me rather stop for the night! I hope you enjoyed these photographs of the amazing sunbird. All of the photographs are my own, taken with my Nikon D300 and Tamron zoom 300mm lens. The musings are also mine. Happy birding, and stay safe!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
67 Comments
Ecency