"Are We Art?" - Original Poem in Response to Looking at the Cape White-eye From a Different Angle

Looking at things from a different angle results in a different understanding or a different appreciation of everyday objects or things. We are so used to, for example, bird photography being from a certain angle that when we are confronted with images from uncommon angles, it almost becomes uncanny, weird, alienating. I also think a lot of time these images are thrown into the graveyard of unnamed folders on our computers. We do not have time to sort through them but unlike images where the object is out of focus or already out of the frame, these images are relegated to the "what if" and "almost" category. And I think they deserve more attention.

This afternoon, after a long trip in the car, I heard the sounds of the Cape White-eye in the tree above me. Completely covered with tiny white flowers, they feast on the nectar or they eat the smaller insects that are also attracted to the flowers. Sitting on a lower angle, I could not see them from the front or the normal angle. I took photographs of them from below. Again, they were distracted by the mechanical shutter on my camera. I managed to dance around and get some images. The light fell perfectly. A single phrase jumped in my mind whilst I listened to their cheery chirps: Are we art? And so, a poem was born. Please enjoy the poem with the images of this stunning small and artistic-looking bird!

Are We Art?

An original poem

are we art
i can hear them sing
in their entangled songs
fluttering about
they taunt and tease
and bully my mind
with their indifference
to my quest for answers

_dsc1299.jpg

_dsc1297.jpg

are we art
their absence question
with the leaves rustling
and the bees busily
searching for better days
are we art
i try to resolve this question in vain

_dsc1295.jpg

_dsc1296.jpg

are we art
i see their tails disappear through the thicket
taunting me to follow them
deeper into the dark
where the question seems to lose all meaning
are we art
i grasp at some meaning
that i can rigidly place onto the world
but it all seems in vain
as they flutter away

_dsc1301.jpg

_dsc1302.jpg

I hope that you enjoyed the poem and the photographs, albeit from a different and strange angle. The words are my own and the photographs were shot with an old Nikon D300 and Tamron zoom lens. Do you think these images are usable? Are they art? Is the question meaningless? Please comment with your opinion! Stay safe and happy birding.

_dsc1305.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency