Feathered Friends Show me a Photo - WINGS - contest entry

Here's my entry for this week's Show Me A Photo contest in the Feathered Friends community - the theme is WINGS.

I'm glad for this prompt because it nudged me to finally spend some time processing photos I took last December. My wife and I took a short vacation to a tiny cabin to get a break from our kids after months without a moment of quiet in pandemic isolation with them. While she read books and took naps, I did a couple of long hikes with my camera.

On the second day I went to a nature center along a lake. There were some cardinals, sparrows and chickadees in the woods as usual, but when I made it down to the lake I was rewarded with something I don't ever see at home - a large flock of seagulls and a large flock of cormorants were both taking advantage of the peaceful water.

This presented some challenges for me as a photographer; I'm still roughly a beginner at this, and I haven't shot a lot of birds on water. The trail wound around a small peninsula jutting into the lake, and the winter afternoon lighting was very difficult on one side of it. Still, I had a great time watching this huge assembly of birds and I think I got a few good snaps out of the trip.

This first shot is my contest entry - the way the cormorants took flight from the water was greatly entertaining, and this was my best attempt at capturing the noise and chaos of a group taking off all at once.

20201213_0216_01.jpg

Now just for fun, here are a few more photos from that weekend:

I'm pretty pleased with this one aesthetically, but it also gives a hint of just how many birds were out there. It was impossible for me to get a good shot showing the full scale of the situation.
20201213_0192.jpg

This is the best shot I got of an individual gull. Not great but it was good practice trying to catch them up in the air!
20201213_0228.jpg

Just some cormorants enjoying the sunny afternoon.
20201213_0182.jpg

After all, who doesn't love just sitting on a log with their buddies?
20201213_0119.jpg

A belted kingfisher on the hunt.
20201213_0096_01.jpg

I followed this heron nearly a mile around the shore of this lake, but not on purpose -- he just kept going the same way the trail led me!
20201213_0007.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency