Feathered Friends SMAP Contest Entry - The Tail

This is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 38! The theme for this round is "The Tail". You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

My first photo of this Gray Catbird is my entry. The Gray Catbird is a very common bird and I chose it as my entry because it was showing off its tail so nicely that how could I not! This particular Gray Catbird had been coming to the feeders outside my window and was chirping/singing which caught my attention. However, when thinking back I believe the very first time I caught it at the feeders it had its beak in the new Hummingbird feeder that I had put out. That was also the only bird that I've seen sipping from it. I think the Hummingbird feeder is probably not in the best spot for the Hummers so the Gray Catbird is welcome to it till next Spring anyway.

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-1ok.jpg

This female House Sparrow was enjoying the safflower seeds that I put in my other feeders.

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-2ok.jpg

I use safflower seeds in my feeders because not all birds care for it. The main birds that I put it out for are the Northern Cardinals which love it! Here is a male Cardinal making sure the the safflower seeds that the Finches and Sparrows pushed out of the feeders does not go to waste.

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-3ok.jpg

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-4ok.jpg

The female Cardinal may not have the overall red color on her feathery coat as the male does but I think the red tail is almost as red and just as pretty!

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-5ok.jpg

Now, just to prove that I do get out, once in a while, I have some "Tail" feathers of birds outside of my yard. Like this Bald Eagle that I photographed while on the Lower Susquehanna Heritage Greenway Trail by the Conowingo Dam in Harford County, Maryland. It was perched so far up and away on a dead tree. I wish it had been facing towards me but if it had been then I guess you wouldn't be seeing it in this post right now!

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-6ok.jpg

Next up are a couple of Turkeys. I photographed them at the Baugher's Orchard & Farm in Westminster, Maryland. This first one was preening its feathers and looks headless .. lol.

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-7ok.jpg

I just love this next one because it was a very pretty color. I believe it is a Blue Slate Turkey and for a split second it even fanned its tail out a little bit!

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-8ok.jpg

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-9ok.jpg

This is my last photo and I photographed it at the Cromwell Valley Park in Baltimore County, Maryland. I think it was definitely meant for a contest featuring "The Tail"! Hmm .. what kind of bird do you suppose it belongs to?! Yep! It belongs to one of my favorite birds the Northern Cardinal! 💖

featheredfriendssmaptail9-28-2021-10ok.jpg

Thank you @nelinoeva for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest!!
Thank you @melinda010100 for #featheredfriends!!
Thank you also to all the sponsors and @oks2crypto for judging!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency