Feathered Friends SMAP Contest Entry - Great Blue Heron

This is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 72 which is hosted by @nelinoeva! The theme for this round is "Bird Standing On One Leg". You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

smapbirdononeleg6-18-2022-1ok.JPG

My photos for this round feature this beautiful Great Blue Heron! I photographed him (or her) while I was visiting the Conowingo Dam area in Harford County, Maryland. In this next photo you can actually see part of the Conowingo Dam in the background. The Great Blue Heron is in the photo but I took these photos from "some" distance so he is hard to see. I placed a blue circle around him to give you an idea of how far away he was and to also show off a bit of the Dam.

smapbirdononeleg6-18-2022-2ok1.gif

The Great Blue Heron appeared to be in deep thought and stayed pretty much as you see here until he didn't .. lol. I wondered if perhaps he was looking for a fish in the water. He did eventually move about only to preen himself a little and flew off shortly thereafter.

smapbirdononeleg6-18-2022-3ok.JPG

Here is my last photo of this beautiful bird before he started to briefly preen himself. His coloring and plumage is quite pretty. It also shows that indeed he does have two legs. 😉

smapbirdononeleg6-18-2022-4ok.JPG

All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency