Feathered Friends - Two young Kestrels outside of Gothenburg, Sweden summer of 2011

This is my entry to the #SMaP competition, round 81, show me a bird you have identified. And the bird I have chosen is a Kestrel, or tornfalk as it is known in Swedish. The bird in the picture is a youngling.

When and wear of the picture
The photo features two young kestrels sitting on top of a big wooden "crate" with a truck cap inside. I am able to get basically within arms reach of them when taking this photo.

The picture is actually fairly old, it is taken on July 11, 2011. Back when I was working a summer job as a forklift driver on the west coast, just outside of Gothenburg. We usually had nesting doves under the tin roof, or at least have had the previous summers I had worked there. But for some strange reason in 2011, there were no doves in sight. ^^

Instead, we had a pair of nesting Kestrels. And while this had its own fair share of problems. Personally, I prefer them over the doves. They were more engaging and sociable than the doves.

As an example, when I was sitting in my forklift truck waiting for the next lorry to come for loading or unloading. I usually like to sit out in the open, rain or sunshine. And when they were getting the hang of flying they usually would fly out to me and sit on my forklift truck roof. Presumably, because I was at a good distance from the roof and pallets under the roof they usually would sit on. And they would also have an ok view from up top the roof.

I do plan to do a more thorough post and share some more pictures of them in the future. So if you like to see more and hear a little bit more about them. Then please stop by and check back in with me in the near future.

See you on the interwebs!

Picture provided by: Me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency