Wet crows

IMG_7505.jpg

The rains finally came. The day was soggy. Felt like the weather was trying to make up for the accidental summer we had the week before. It was wet, cool, and very Pacific Northwest.

IMG_7498.jpg

IMG_7500.jpg

It was good weather for grubbing.

IMG_7489.jpg

And good weather for handouts.

IMG_7435.jpg
Dairy, salt, and bread are not healthy feeding choices for crows, but I've seen them go crazy over things like pizza that they've pulled out of the trash, so every once in a while I give them a little treat of cheese or corn chips, just for variety. Most of the time I feed them unsalted peanuts in the shell, raw almonds, scrambled eggs, and high quality dog and cat kibble. Since it was pouring down rain, I handed out a wee bit of cheese.

Some of my regulars weren't digging the rain, and lingered in the trees for a long time before finally coming down for the free food. I believe both of these are juveniles, just under a year old. Separate families.

IMG_7409.jpg

IMG_7331.jpg

I'm pretty sure the sudden contrast of the rain upset Bo. When I arrived he yelled at me from the ground, yelled at me from atop a street sign, pecked my head multiple times, and tried repeatedly to chew up this car's antenna. The rattle sound he makes after I shoo him off is an appeasement sound, kind of like an apology, and the grumbling afterward I believe is a form of nestling/baby talk. After all that he didn't want to hang out anymore.

Pilot didn't mind the rain, though.

IMG_7425.jpg

And Bo's kin seemed all right with it, too. These are of Junior, who recently had a growth spurt and is looking more and more like his big brother Bo each day. I'm back to thinking he's a boy. He's probably almost 1 now.

IMG_7300.jpg

IMG_7301.jpg

Junior, in a sea of cherry blossoms.
IMG_7293.jpg

Sweet-eyed Lod, sodden father of Junior and Bo.

IMG_7304.jpg

tracks-296631_1280.png

I wouldn't mind if it kept raining, but I think that was it for a while.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency