Show me a photo contest: BABY CROW!!

DSC_2693.jpg
I can't even begin to tell you how much this little crow means to me. This is the offspring of Bo and Lorena, a pair of mated crows with whom I have a close friendship. This baby has recently fledged the nest and has been hopping from branch to branch, learning how to fly. There are other fledglings, but it is hard to spot them in the foliage. They tend to keep quiet unless they are being fed.

This is Lorena feeding her fledgling. It's a noisy and messy endeavor. You can see a chunk of food falling. It almost hit me when I was taking pictures.
DSC_2877.jpg
Fledgling American crows have beautiful bright blue eyes! Here is a closeup of this baby's eye.

IMG_1394.jpg
Adult American crows have amber brown eyes. Here is a closeup of Bo's eye. He's the father of this little one.

DSC_7155.jpg

Fledgling American Crows also have a pink gape, which is the pink part in the corners of their mouths. It's a bright and easy target for parents to put food into. As you can see, this little crow also still has pink feet. They will eventually become black.

DSC_2702.jpg
This photo is my entry to the #smap contest in Feathered Friends


I've been seeing (and posting) a lot of young birds lately. Feel free to click the links if you want to see more baby birds:

DSC_8163.jpg
Canadian Goose goslings

DSC_8751.jpg
Black capped Chickadee Fledgling (and an update on her)

DSC_0136.jpg
Mallard Ducklings

DSC_1432.jpg
Fledgling Bushtits


I hope you have enjoyed this post! I am a total bird nerd and love to take pictures of them. I also love to share my best shots, so if you like birds, please follow me and join the Feathered Friends community!

Thank you @nelinoeva for the Show Me a Photo Contest!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency