Raven Hassling a Hawk

The #qurator team has a Weekly Photo Quest competition, and this week's theme is silhouettes. Since my silhouettes are of birds (surprise!) I thought that Feathered Friends would be a good place to post my entry.

I was riding the Washington State Ferry toward San Juan Island. Early morning, the sun and I both barely awake. Still, I had my camera out.
Off in the distance I could see one large bird swooping another. When I put the camera up to my eye and zoomed in, I saw that it was a raven harassing an eagle.
DSC_8434.JPG

When processing the images I had to do a pretty heavy crop in order to really show what was going on, but I still wanted to share the dramatic edit on the original.
Here you can still see that it's two birds, but the eye-to-eye engagement between the two birds is lost.
DSC_8434 1.JPG
The boat was moving fast but I took as many shots as I could before the scene was out of view.

DSC_8431.JPG

DSC_8432.JPG

DSC_8433.JPG

DSC_8429.JPG

DSC_8435.JPG

DSC_8436.JPG
I'm not sure how long it went on or exactly why it was happening, but my guess, based on it being early summer, is that this raven was making sure the eagle wasn't about to help himself to her fledglings.

DSC_8437.JPG
I know everybody's gotta eat, but I'll root for the corvid every time.
(Corvids include crows, ravens, jays, magpies, jackdaws, and rooks.)


Thanks for checking out my post!
instagram: @se_pdx_crows
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support Feathered Friends Community and @qurator.

DSC_8430.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency