Did Dr. Seuss design the bushtit nest?

DSC_3136.jpg
Or maybe Jim Henson? It looks like a muppet bird's nest, so bizarre and fascinating. From a distance it looks like dryer lint stuck in a tree.

DSC_3134.jpg

DSC_3141.jpg

But when you get closer, you can see that it's actually an incredible structure, made out of spider webs, lichen, moss, fur, feathers, cottony plant material, and what looks like a lot of other odds and ends stuck onto the outside for camouflage.

DSC_3144.jpg

It looks like the bushtits have to find a spot where the small branches are close enough to provide suitable framework. This is a view from behind, where you can see how it is suspended from two branches, with another branch crossing through transversely.

DSC_3151.jpg

Here's a view from below.

DSC_3148.jpg

This nest is suspended from an apple tree in front of a house about a mile from where I live. I hung around for a billion years (or maybe twenty minutes) hoping to see someone go in or come out, but I never did. This nest has been there for a while, so maybe it's not occupied right now. Bushtits have two broods in a year, though, so maybe they'll be back.

The other day while I was hanging out in Bo land , I noticed a bushtit flitting about and chirping in the branches above me. I aimed my camera and snagged a series of shots, just out of curiosity and desire to have a picture of this itty bitty little bird (they are only about 3 1/2 inches from beak to tail). I didn't realize until I looked at the pictures later that this bird was collecting nesting material!

DSC_1477.jpg

DSC_1481.jpg

DSC_1482.jpg

DSC_1484.jpg

DSC_1490.jpg

DSC_1494.jpg

DSC_1497.jpg

DSC_1498.jpg

DSC_1499.jpg

Since then I've been looking for a nest in the area, but have yet to find one. I'll definitely get some shots of it if I do!
In reading up on the bushtit I learned that the mated pairs will stay together for several years, and that pairs will have an additional adult male helper bird at the nest. I couldn't nail down a confirmation on this, but one site said that sometimes multiple families will use the same nest. Safety in numbers, plus a loving community.

I will close with this bushtit with a mouthful of spider.

DSC_3813.jpg

Thanks for birding with me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency