FIRST FLIGHT!!

IMG_4580.JPG

The maiden voyage!!! The great day arrives and Baby One takes flight for the first time!! From her thorny perch the little Malachite Sunbird doesn't look at all intimidated by the big wide world. Mama Sunbird hopping encouragingly between the nearby branches. She even flitted above my head to draw my attention to the celebratory first flight of Baby Number One. The little Sunbird family had wisely chosen their cactus home because the surrounding trees are a perfect short first flight away. Plus they are the very thorny Karee Boom (Tree). The ideal place to hide from predators. Check out those nasty thorns!

IMG_4597.JPG

Last night I dreamed that a bad African Grey had flown down onto the little Sunbird nest and stolen (and eaten) one of the Baby Sunbirds. On waking I flew (pun intended) out the bathroom window to peer inside the nest. I found only one Baby. No! How is that possible. If you followed my recent update you will understand our reminder that, in the animal kingdom it is about Survival of the Fittest I don't like it. However that is the reality of the animal kingdom.

IMG_4606.JPG

Before I had time to bemoan the loss of another Baby Sunbird the diligent little mother dropped to the ground in front of me and then flew excitedly into the Karee Boom (Tree) I saw a tiny flash of fluffy movement in answer to her chirrups. There was Baby One....which meant....the little Sunbird I had just seen in the nest was Baby Two. She cautiously observed the world from her safe haven.

IMG_4602.JPG

Nope. Don't think I'll be venturing out there any time soon!

IMG_4571.JPG

As usual Daddy Sunbird shot in with a mouthful of butterfly breakfast. Just as suddenly he was gone. No pressure to get his nervous Baby Two out of the nest. Meanwhile Baby One enjoyed her newfound freedom. Stretching her wings and grooming. Savouring the big open space after the tiny home she had all lived her initial three weeks of life.

IMG_4600.JPG

Mama Sunbird stayed between her two babies, chirruping encouragement to both. Occasionally she would flutter around my head excitedly, knowing I shared her joy. Later while walking in the field checking on the sheep I was surprised to be followed by Mama Sunbird. She scolded me for abandoning the Babies on their celebratory first day out.

IMG_4584.JPG

When Daddy Sunbird returned with the umpteenth bug breakfast I realized that my own human family needed breakfast. Baby Two seemed quite content to stay in her little nest. Forever.

IMG_4588.JPG

On returning to the nest however; I found it....EMPTY!!! It didn't long to see sweet Baby Sunbird Two nearby. She was under the Pepper Tree on a cable near her sister still in the Karee Boom. What a special day it has been! Throughout the day I watched the two little ones and their happy Mama.

IMG_4614.JPG

Daddy Sunbird would come and go. Sometimes sitting quietly in the huge Eucalyptus trees. But it seemed like his job was done. Until suddenly he attacked the Karee Boom. With surprising fury he actually chased the far bigger birds. Mossies, weavers and doves that he felt were too close to his Sunbird Babies flew in all directions. I'm very relieved I was tolerated like that distant relative and never chased by the green fury!

IMG_4591.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency