Feathered Friends - Face to face with Columba palumbus

Feathered Friends - Face to face with Columba palumbus.

Greetings to you friends from Ukraine!

Yesterday I was fortunate enough to come face to face with Columba palumbus, a large bird that has enjoyed nesting in urban areas in recent years.

At first glance, those who are not familiar with this bird, it looks like an ordinary pigeon, but not everything is so simple.

This is a dove - Schwarzenegger, so to speak, lol.

He is several times larger than an ordinary pigeon, and when he sits on a branch, the first thought that comes to you is the thought of a chicken who decided to rest on a tree branch.

Usually, Columba palumbus is very careful and does not let you get close, it flies away faster than you can get close.

But as I said yesterday, I was surprised that I was able to walk up to two meters, stand under a tree and photograph this magnificent bird.

DSC02005.JPG

Sometimes, I edit photos before publishing, but not this time.

These photographs seemed to me very atmospheric, and I did not want to change anything, I was satisfied with the light and shadows, the sharpness and clarity of the photograph.

DSC01997.JPG

Look at this proud gaze, it is the gaze of an eagle, not a dove).

DSC02010.JPG

I thought about the reason why the bird let me close and I assume that this is a very young bird that recently left the nest. Later, I received confirmation of my guesses.

DSC02006.JPG

It was very quiet. I looked at Columba palumbus, and he looked at me. These are great seconds. The buzzing of the camera lens did not frighten the bird.

DSC01991.JPG

I had the opportunity to take photographs from different angles.

DSC01992.JPG

Such a photo session is a constant stress for the photographer, because you are constantly waiting for the bird to fly away.

DSC01994.JPG

When I decided to go home and walked some distance from the tree on which Columba palumbus was sitting, I turned around and saw a second bird that sat down next to the first.

This was one of the parents of this muscular chick.

Thus ended my communication with Columba palumbus.

Happy viewing!

DSC01995.JPG

Author @barski
Ukraine

For my publications, I do not use stock photographs, it is fundamentally important for me to use photographs that I have made with my own hands for publication and I can name them - authorial work.

You can go to our blog on the Hive platform by clicking on the bee.

bEEEEEEE.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency