Cristofué [ENG-ESP]

Cristofué [ENG-ESP]


If I were asked: "Have you ever seen a Pitangus Sulphuratus?" I would probably answer no. But if they ask me: "Have you ever seen a Cristofué?" then yes, I would answer in the affirmative. But I must admit that I have only known him for a short time, even though I have heard this name for a long time. Before I tell you about those times, I would like to describe this beautiful bird. All images are my own, using my Canon EOS Rebel t3i camera.

Si me preguntan: "¿Alguna vez has visto un Pitangus Sulphuratus?" seguramente yo respondería que no. Pero si me preguntan: "¿Alguna vez has visto un Cristofué?" entonces sí respondería afirmativamente. Pero debo admitir que lo conozco desde hace poco tiempo, a pesar de haber escuchado éste nombre desde hace mucho tiempo. Antes de contarle de esos tiempos, me gustaría describirles ésta bonita ave. Todas las imágenes son mías, usando mi cámara Canon EOS Rebel t3i.

IMG_8101.JPG

The birds are evidence of the good taste that our Creator has in combining and contrasting the colors in the plumage of these little ones. I am struck in the foreground by the intense yellow color on the breast and the rest of the body. You can quickly look at the place where it landed, and then you can admire it at close range. But as you start to detail it, you begin to see the color scheme. His wings and top are kind of a brownish color, I don't know how to describe it. But it obviously suits him very well. Now, his face is monochromatic. Underneath his black "toupee" he is surrounded by a nice white stripe that barely touches his bright eyes. Then comes black again to shade her cheeks. And finally the white appears on her throat. In the photos you can distinguish that his beak has a small curvature at the tip... only by editing the images I could realize it. As for its size, I can say that it is one of the largest specimens that arrive near my house. Other than that, they don't seem to be having a bad time at all, as they all seem to have a few extra grams.

Las aves son evidencia de los buenos gustos que tiene nuestro Creador, al combinar y contrastar los colores en el plumaje de estos pequeños. A mi me llama la atención en primer plano es su intenso color amarillo en el pecho y resto del cuerpecito. Uno puede rapidamente dirigir la mirada hacia el lugar donde se posó, y entonces poder admirarlo a corta distancia. Pero al empezar a detallarlo empieza a ver la combinación de colores. Sus alas y parte superior tiene como un color marrón, no sé cómo describirlo. Pero obviamente le queda muy bien. Ahora, su rostro es monocromático. Debajo de su "peluquin" negro se rodea de una linda franja blanca que apenas toca sus brillantes ojos. Entonces llega de nuevo el negro para matizar sus mejillas. Y finalmente aparece el blanco en su garganta. En las fotos se puede distinguir que su pico tiene una pequeña curvatura en la punta... sólo editando las imágenes pude darme cuenta de ello. En cuanto a su tamaño, puedo decir de que es uno de los ejemplares más grande que llegan cerca de mi casa. Aparte de eso, parece que no están pasandola nada mal, ya que todos parecen tener unos gramos de más.

5.JPG

However, it is their song that is one of their most distinctive features. It is loud and seems to say "Cristofué" ("Christ was" in English). And that is why it is known in this part of the world by that name. I know that in other places it is called (in Spanish) Bienteveo, because some also associate its song with that pronunciation. Which is the real one? Well, maybe the one you like, because it seems to me that it is only a product of our imagination as human beings, a subjectivity of how we interpret that sound. Besides, it is something that has been with us for thousands of years, because when Adam gave names to animals, he surely paid attention to details like these to give them names that are associated with their sounds, their shapes, their colors, etc. I am sure that any of the two options could be easier to use than the scientific name that I wrote at the beginning.

Sin embargo, es su canto uno de sus rasgos más distintivos. Es fuerte y pareciera que dijera (en español) "Cristo fué". Y de ahí que se le conozca en ésta parte del mundo con ése nombre. Sé que en otros lugares se le llama Bienteveo, porque también algunos asocian su canto con esa pronunciación. ¿Cuál es la verdadera? Bueno, quizás la que te guste, porque me parece que es sólo producto de nuestra imaginación como seres humanos, una subjetividad de cómo interpretamos ese sonido. Además, es algo que personas nos acompaña desde hace miles de años, porque cuando Adán le ponía nombres a los animales de seguro se fijaba en detalles como estos para darle nombres que estén asociados con sus sonidos, con sus formas, con sus colores, etc. Seguro que cualquiera de las dos opciones podrá ser más sencilla de usar que el nombre científico que escribí al principio.

IMG_8102.JPG

Now, how long have I known this bird? Since 28 years ago, but I only know it by hearsay. And here's a little history:

At that time I was in a new rural school. I was looking forward to this new place, the classmates, the teacher and the learning environment. The classroom had a large window that took up almost the entire wall. In the early morning hours the sunlight was streaming in, but it didn't bother me, especially since I used to be on that side. Maybe because I liked to look out. In the foreground I had the schoolyard, and there at certain times other students were playing sports. At the end of that courtyard were some big trees and a lot of vegetation. So I could see around there some birds from time to time prowling the branches, and also some squirrels. So there were days when the teacher's voice was mixed with the sounds of nature.

Then our music teacher told us that one of the birds we were listening to that day had a special song, because it said: "Cristofué". I, skeptical, did not believe it. The teacher was quite insistent on the matter. In fact, with each song of the little bird he would say in a high-pitched voice "Cristofué". And the more I listened to him, the less I believed it. I thought: "I think this teacher is cheating us" So I tried to sharpen my eyesight by looking outside and trying to distinguish him, but school days were not enough to ever see him. So I graduated from that stage of education, moved away, and went on with my life. The Cistofué didn't turn out to be so real to me.

Ahora, ¿desde cuando conozco a ésta ave? Desde hace 28 años, pero sólo lo conozco de oídas. Y aquí va un poco de historia:

En ese entonces me encontraba en una nueva escuela rural. Tenía mucha expectativa de este nuevo lugar, los compañeros, la maestra y el entorno de aprendizaje. El salón de clase tenía un gran ventanal que ocupaba casi toda la pared. A tempranas horas de la mañana la luz solar entraba a todas sus anchas, pero no me molestaba, en especial porque solía estar de ese lado. Quizás porque me gustaba ver hacia afuera. En primer plano tenía el patio de la escuela, y allí en algunas horas otros alumnos practicaban deporte. Al final de ese patio se encontraban unos grandes árboles y mucha vegetación. Así que podía ver por allí algunas aves de vez en cuando merodeando las ramas, y también algunas ardillas. Así que había días que la voz de la maestra se mezclaba con los sonidos de la naturaleza.

Entonces nuestro maestro de música nos dijo de que una de las aves que estábamos escuchando ese día tenía un canto especial, porque decía: "Cristofué". Yo, escéptico, no lo creía. El maestro insistía bastante en el asunto. De hecho, con cada canto del pajarito él decía con voz aguda y alta "Cristofué". Y yo mientras más lo escuchaba, menos me lo creía. Pensaba: "Creo que éste maestro está haciéndonos trampa" De modo que trataba de afinar mi vista al mirar afuera y tratar de distinguirlo, pero los días de escuela no fueron suficientes para lograr algún día verlo. Así que me gradué de esa etapa de educación, nos mudamos de lugar, y seguí mi vida. El Cristofué no resultó ser algo tan real para mí.

4.JPG

Now, almost three decades later I had the pleasure of meeting this bird. Now I can distinguish it, see it, admire it and listen to it. So close to my house, that even when I walk or ride my bicycle I can see it perching on the power line in the street, when it perches on the ground and in a tree.

When I put some camburs on the wall to feed birds that day, the Cristofué is one of those that almost never misses the appointment. Maybe because of the shape of its beak it manages to have such big mouthfuls that I get the impression that it would choke, but no. It eats very well. He eats very well. In fact, the fact that he also likes to sing on the wall has made me sharpen my ear to differentiate his song from the other neighbors.

Ahora, casi tres décadas después tuve el agrado de conocer a ésta ave. Ahora puedo distinguirla, verla, admirarla y escucharla. Tan cerca de mi casa, que incluso al caminar o andar en la bicicleta puedo verla posarse en el tendido eléctrico de la calle, cuando se posa en el suelo y en un árbol.

Cuando coloco algunos cambures en el muro para alimentar aves ese día, el Cristofué es uno de los que casi nunca falta a la cita. Tal vez por la forma de su pico logra tener grandes bocados que me da la impresión que su fuera a ahogar, pero no. Come muy bien. Incluso, el hecho de que también le guste cantar en el muro me ha hace afinar mi oído para diferenciar su canto de los demás vecinos.

IMG_8100.JPG

Actually, although I never dreamed of not having known this bird in my school years, nor did I ever have the will to Google it, I am happy to now know about such a popular bird in the locality. Also, I am satisfied for having achieved this graphic material that I bring you today and tell you my opinion. Thank you for joining me in this reading and anecdotes. What do I think of its name? Do I support the idea that it seems to say "Cristofué"? Well, how do I explain it to you...?

En realidad, aunque nunca me quitó el sueño no haber conocido ésta ave en mis años de escuela ni nunca tuve la voluntad de buscarlo en Google, me siento feliz de ahora sí conocer a tan popular ave en la localidad. También, estoy satisfecho por haber logrado éste material gráfico que les traigo hoy y contarle mi opinión. Agradezco que me hayan acompañado en ésta lectura y anécdotas. ¿Qué opino de su nombre? ¿Apoyo la idea que parece decir "Cristofué"? Bueno, ¿cómo te lo explico...?

My social media / Mis redes sociales

Instagram.png Twitter.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency