Sealed With A Loving Kiss

Hello Hello Silverites and awesome people of the Hive

24 hour television, a multitude of channels and choices, oh yes make no mistake, kids have it easy today!

Growing up I can remember the three channels that we had on television. The television had no remote control.
We were the remote control🤣

"Edward, change the channel"
"Aww mum, I did it last time, it's not my turn!"

Then of course, you had the televisions with the flipping internal antennae that you had to try and manoeuvre to get a signal.




source Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

Do you remember that, or did you have something similar?
The Test Card!
In the UK, before the station went off air for the night, they would play The National Anthem ~ God Save The Queen, and then pop up the test card until the station came back on air in the morning.
Going off air would often be accompanied by a high pitched whining noise, which you might wake up to, knowing you had fallen asleep with the television on!

I'll tell you what though, with the Television situation of my youth I did read my fair share of books! Something that I think has been lost over the years.


As for smartphones, well our "voice chat" was a rotary dial phone on the hall desk, and you memorised phone numbers!
"Edward, get off the phone I am expecting a call!"
"But mum, I am talking to Jennifer, we haven't talked since last period at school!"
"NOW Edward! Or I will get your Father!"
"Yessss mother."

Talking about school and girls, I wonder if kids of today did what we used to do.
Love Notes and Letters
We didn't have lockers at school, but we did have our own school desk in a dedicated class room. These were not locked and were open to everyone.




source Image by Please support me! Thank you! from Pixabay

On a Monday sometimes you would open up your desk lid and find a perfume covered envelope usually with SWALK written on the back of it. Sealed With A Loving Kiss. Before even opening it, you would be trying to guess who it was from, oh please don't let it be from Ruby the redhead or Belinda the Blonde. I was a sucker for dark hair and would be hoping it was so and so.
Once a charming rascal, always a charming rascal😎
Aye those were fun times.

Letters have been replaced by emails, and then we have computers. People have been talking about floppy discs well who remembers punch cards? At school I remember the first computer we used we had to input data on a punch card!


Music has always been a part of my life, and I cannot forget listening to the charts on a Sunday night and taping the songs onto cassettes. When I was a kid, I had never heard of Copywright let alone what it meant.

I did though join Britannia music and would get sent cassettes of the latest music, of course I had to scounge money to pay for this. I remember going to the Post Office, to get a Postal Order as the method for paying. Then sending my receipt and postal order away!


This trip down memory lane has been my out-of-competition post for the Silver Bloggers community #BOM, which this month is about Things, or memories, from (y)our youth that today's youth will not understand or have seen.

Remember you have until today Tuesday 19th of July at midnight UTC. You can check instructions and prizes at Blog of the Month - New theme for Tuesday 19 July.

Thank you very much for reading and get writing people!

I hope that you enjoyed this trip down memory lane and have yourself a fantastic week!

Remeber that you are awesome!
Make sure to Tell Yourself that today
😊

silver_divider_logo.png



All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman @TengoLoTodo unless otherwise stated.

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
121 Comments
Ecency