800 for one month $?? for 3 Months

$800 for one month $?? for 3 Months

Perhaps a bit of a rant, but I am going to go ahead anywhere...

Recently I went to pick up some prescriptions for my Wife and was shocked when the total for 5 prescriptions was close to $1800, Being retired my budget is less than it used to be when I was working of course, so that and the total of the bill made me go WOW what the heck, and ask them to hold on two three of the prescriptions, which were one for around 800, one around $500 and another about $300 while I did some checking into them and why so expensive.

Now I am lucky to have good insurance, which I had for years while working and we get a good deal for our retirement Health Insurance, so this is not a complaint about them and it all worked out in the end as I will explain.
Now these three prescriptions which all along with a bunch of others started after Lulu Had the fall, Hip replacement, reaction to the blood thinner, two vascular surgeries etc etc over her 5 weeks in hospital at the beginning of this year.

Now I had picked up prescriptions for these three medications before and no way were that that expensive, so I wanted to follow up with our Health insurance provider and see what was up.

So I called them and they confirmed for one months supply of each of those medications that was the copay, but luckily before I could say anything to that the person I was talking to added "HOWEVER" which made me bite my tongue and see what else was coming.
and the however was, if you pick up a 3 month supply of the prescription the copay would be $15 for each of them.

Needless to say I called the Drs who had prescribed them and asked for a 3 month supply prescribed for each and sure enough when I went to pick them up, it was $45 total for all three of them with 3 Months supply as compared to $1600 for one months supply, boy that was a relief.

Now I am not complaining about the insurance, they have been great in dealing with the billing for Lulus time in hospital and when some bills have come in for crazy amounts from the Hospital, a quick call to the Insurance has sorted most of them out.
I am sure there is some logic in why they want clients to full 3 Months supply of prescriptions' and hence the big cost difference, and to be honest with all the pills Lulu is on now, its easier picking up pills 3 monthly instead of monthly, so it all worked out well in the long run.

Rant Over onto some photos

THis happened a while back as I said and I have been meaning todo a post about it but wasn't sure what photo or photos to add to the post and I saw this one in my lightroom catalogue today with number son it and led to this post

crazy-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 144mm F6.3 1/160 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger

Just one photo for this post a bit unusual for me but didn't know what else would fit with this post

And that’s all folks

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCPyjABknxZJJvUz9yun2Zy8P1U6JvG6Su9nuUqwyRSWGZ6yWjFCqoaFeB5fsBEGuPAK2JfviXrQEGaDgCrHEMVWxEXQDuLruvdN5rfWKheZncT6mLWHAAg6.jpg


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long Cove Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
58 Comments
Ecency