Seeing The Beauty Around Us And My Poem "Miracle Of A New Day

image.png
Image Source

With the pandemic and the lockdown, life has slowed down to a certain extend. A lot of businesses are closed and there is less traffic on the road. Since I am now retired, and also have more free time on my hand, my daily routine is now more leisurely. Without tight deadlines and KPIs (Key Performance Index) to meet, I have more time to do the things that I want to do. While I was still working, I used to have this habit to occasionally stop what I am doing, just take a look around for 5 to 10 minutes to appreciate the beauty around me.

Now that I am retired, I decided to do a social experiment for the past 2 weeks to intentionally see and appreciate the beauty around me as I go about my daily routine. So instead of just trying to reach the goal of 10,000 steps while brisk walking, I paid closer attention to my surroundings and see the beauty of the trees, plants and flowers I walked by. While driving around in my hometown of Kuching, I appreciate how blue the sky is, how green Kuching is and how clean is it. Let me just show you some photographs as examples.

image.png
The pavement is like a canvas with the leaves forming an artistic pattern.

image.png
I almost miss the butterfly that was trying to camofluage itself amongst the leaves.

image.png
Look at how symmetrical the leaves are.

image.png
Previously I did not even notice the berries on the palm tree.

image.png
Even something as ordinary as a tree can be so beautiful.

image.png
Admiring my neighbour's plant.

image.png
This park which is just opposite my house, is beautifully landscaped.

image.png
This same park has a man-made lake with stunning Chinese-styled teahouse.

Beauty can be found anywhere. It just dawned on me that due to my busyness and impatience, I missed out appreciating beauty surrounding me. I have been living in this neighbourhood for more than 10 years, I sledom noticed how beautiful the trees, plants or flowers are. Another factor that distract us from the beauty of environment is our obsession with our tablets and handphones. Worrying will also prevent us from seeing the beauty around us. But if we try to be more mindful and present, we can savour the beauty of the moment.

Imagine if we can see and appreciate the beauty of little things, our days would be happier. Happier days will lead to a happier life in the long run. This morning as I was looking at the youthful 60 old man in the mirror, I can't help but smile at myself. I told myself, today is the first day of the rest of my life. Today is going to be a good day and I will be happy. My life is going to be good and happy.

If we can on a daily basis, we are able to appreciate the little things in life and see the beauty around us, every day has the potential of to be a miracle. I like to end this post with my poem "The Miracles Of A New Day".

The Miracles Of A New Day

The rising of a new day
The morning dew glistening in the sunlight
Leaves swaying gently in the breeze
The sound of waves rhythmically hitting against the rocks
Butterflies fluttering around blooming flowers
The moon glowing in mighty splendour
These are the natural miracles that happen with each passing day

A stroll in the forest
A swim in the river
A jog in the park
A job well done
A kind act
A supportive word
A gentle touch
A child’s playful laughter
A baby’s warm smile
A friend’s concern
These are the miracles that you can create with each passing day

All these are the miracles of each passing day
If we only take the time, we may even experience one today

Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Discovering The Enchanting Hakone Open Air Museum

My Unforgettable Trip To Bario Highlands, The Eden Of Borneo

Daring To Dream At Age 60 Part 2

My Trans-Siberian Railway Adventure Part 1: Views From A Train’s Window

My Trans-Siberian Railway Adventure Part 2: Views From A Train’s Window

BOW:That One Childhood Memory That Lives With Me

My Trans-Siberian Railway Adventure Part 3: Views From A Train’s Window

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

Look me up at You Tube
Connect with me on Facebook

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Hive by rehiving this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency