Flight From London To Budapest

I realise that I have been missing from Hive for a little while, and some of my regular readers may have assumed that I may have had enough of it and gone my merry way. No chance of that, I enjoy this too much! In fact I have been away on my hols.

Two years ago my wife and I celebrated our Ruby Wedding anniversary. We decided that we would do something special to celebrate it. We thought about doing a sea cruise, however my wife gets sea sick so we thought it probably wasn't a good idea. We also didn't fancy spending days out at sea with nothing much to look at. So instead we chose to book a river cruise down the Danube from Hungary to Croatia.

Although our anniversary wasn't until September we booked our trip in January 2020. We knew we couldn't actually be away on our anniversary as my wife works in a school, which meant we had to go during the school summer holidays. Little did we know when we booked our trip that covid was about to strike. So to cut a long story short, it was cancelled. But finally, on 1st August this year we set off on our adventure.

My wife hates flying so she likes to sit away from the window, we changed places after taking the photo above. I love flying. I love the feeling of the plane hurtling down the runway, the sound of the engines roaring and the wheels spinning and the the silence of the wheels as suddenly we are in the air. I love looking out of the window and watching as everything below becomes smaller and smaller. I like to think about all the people below us as we fly to our destination. People going about their daily lives, people who I will never meet, and yet for a moment I have flown over. I have to admit I'm like a big kid when it comes to flying.

But my wife would rather have her feet firmly on the ground. She hates all the things I love about flying. I'm not sure she thinks anything about those we are flying over. She's just hoping she won't throw up!

We eventually landed, met the rep from TUI the company we booked our holiday with, and were taken from Budapest airport to where our ship was berthed on the river Danube. It was already dark by then.

By the time we finished dinner and had checked out our cabin the ship was on the move so we went up on the top deck to enjoy the view of the city ablaze with lights. Budapest is beautiful in daylight, but looking at it from the river at night - it's magical.

We were taken past the beautiful Hungarian parliament building, which was bathed in a golden light. We could see what looked like a light show above it, but the lights turned out to be seagulls flying around it, their wings lit up by the lights illuminating the building below them. Unfortunately you can't see them in the photo below.

After passing by the parliament building, the ship turned around and headed towards our next port of call, where we would be when we woke up the next morning.

All photos were taken by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency