Where were you when... February 4, 92? - Blog of the Month

CoverSilver.png

Source: Prensa Presidencial, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

GreenDivider.png

It was 1992 in my country Venezuela and just starting on February 4 an attempted coup d'état. At that time and as has always been a habit for me, I was watching television until very late. I think it was around midnight that a series of explosions and gunshots heard in the distance caught my attention. I lived about 5 kilometers from the Miraflores Palace, the official seat of government, where the insurgents tried to seize power, generating intense armed combat, causing destruction, and leaving several people dead. I knew something was going on and so I witnessed how the TV signals were suspended. I think it was around 1 a.m. that I was able to observe the then President of the country, Carlos Andres Perez, address a message to the nation informing about the situation, on Venevision, a private channel in my country. I could not sleep and I was very interested in finding out the facts, so I was very attentive to the television and radio during those hours. At about 11 o'clock in the morning, the surrender of the leader of the attempted coup, the then military man Hugo Chavez, who would eventually become one of the most nefarious rulers of my country, was shown on television.

TankMiraflores.png

Source: Prensa Presidencial, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

License: CC BY 3.0, Wikimedia Commons

GreenDivider.png

That first glimpse of Hugo Chavez surrendering live and direct, generated in me an immediate rejection towards his person. Having rendered the mandatory military service less than 4 years before, the attitude and message shown by Chavez in that presentation, immediately convinced me that this was an arrogant, false and full of resentment character.

During my stay in my country's military forces, my unit was commanded, at that time, by a Captain named Jesús Alberto Aguilarte Gamez, who was also part of the attempted coup and years later, Governor of Apure State. And for me, Chavez and Aguilarte were the same person. This because of the resentment they both felt towards the government at that time, besides their ideas of building a country based on Bolivarian thinking. But he was so arrogant, insensitive and so involved in those ideas, that in my unit we called him crazy Aguilarte, because he never lost a moment to force us to listen to his sermons full of disdain and rancor. History in Venezuela has been a guarantor and witness of the disastrous consequences of these persons, today absent from this world, having managed to come to power. And you, where were you when these events took place in Venezuela?

GreenDivider.png

This is my entry to the Silver Bloggers community's Blog of the Month and the September theme of the month: Where were you when.... For details, visit this post.

GreenDivider.png

This post is of my authorship and I express in it, my experiences and learnings every day in this Blockchain. All images are edited by me and correspond to captures made on my PC and the sources are indicated in each case. If you like it, you can leave a comment or opinion and your favorable vote.

GreenDivider.png

IconTwitter.png
IconFacebook.png
IconInstagram.png
IconSplinterlands.png
IconRisingStar.png
IconFreeBitcoin.png
Twitter
Facebook
Instagram
Splinterlands
RisingStar
Bitcoin Free

FooterFragozar.png


Edición de Imágenes con/Images Editing by Pixlr.com

Traducido con/Translate with DeepL Traductor

Ortografía y Gramática con/Spelling and Grammar with Corrector Castellano.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency