Two days, two meals

img_0.12125375298848202.jpg

Over the last two evenings, I've got to the kitchen and wanted to do something different. It could be because of the seasonal change or it could be because my head's in a different space. Either way, it doesn't matter.

Creamy mushroom pasta - no cream

img_0.2834060149660816.jpg

It's been a while since I made this creamy mushroom pasta which is not actually made with cream. Not only are we fond of mushrooms, but they're a standard feature of The Husband's Sunday breakfast an which he always cooks. If they're not there, he looks a the plate - he's dished up and says -

There's something wrong with this plate...

It's part of why they often feature - they need to be used. I have, over the last two years learned that the best way to develop their flavour is to cook them low and slow. As it was for this: with olive oil, garlic and white wine. The white wine is added after the liquid that the mushrooms release has reduced, and then reduced again. The mushrooms are finished off with fresh parsley.

The "cream"

The "cream" is not dairy free. Rather, I make it with egg and a bit of yoghurt - on the pasta - rather like a carbonara and before I add the mushrooms. I do reserve some of the water in which the pasta's cooked so that it doesn't get too claggy.

I served it with hard cheese (and which one could also add to the sauce and pasta mix). The only additional seasoning it needed was freshly ground black pepper.

img_0.9407641070839003.jpg

Of course, there had to be more vegetables, so the antipasti: a mixed salad with sautéed brinjal (aka aubergine aka eggplant). Which, incidentally, is another of The Husband's Sunday breakfast non-negotiables.

Thursday tomato poached eggs

I was in an experimental mood when I got into the kitchen last night. There were things in the fridge that wanted cooking and I had a hankering for others.

img_0.7540568893894801.jpg

I had both some bottled tomatoes and pepper that were taking up space, so the obvious product was a sauce.

img_0.7005500398524842.jpg

Also, because I'd peeled and not used and entire butternut, those pieces were also taking up space. Finally, and because I'd not used all the sweet potatoes in last week's curry, and we've not had them for a while, I roasted those with the butternut and some pearl onions (from our own harvest).

img_0.222463982038149.jpg

The result: eggs "poached" in a tomato, onion and pepper sauce; roasted butternut, sweet potato and onions on a bed of rocket and with a dollop of my market pal Trish's wonderful garlic-rich tzatziki.

It's a miscellany meal I shall repeat.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma Post script

I am participating in @traciyork's twice-yearly Hive Blog Posting Month.


If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised applications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking on the logo.

Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs and Canva.
 

 


Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://fionasfavourites.net/pickled-fish-a-south-african-tradition/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency