Tomato diaries 2022 - I

img_0.47640649443448985.jpg

It was exactly a year ago, to the day, that I made the last batch of passata, when I made this one on Monday. I discovered this when I updated my very high tech record of market matters.

img_0.4664275333675981.jpgThe records

Speaking of market matters, I also discovered that it was exactly nine years ago, today, that I first appeared at the McGregor market as a stall holder. This was my first offering:

img_0.5622187094019258.jpg Just soup. Only soup.

Back to the tomatoes: last year, I had been a little overwhelmed when Cecil delivered the same quantity of tomatoes. This year, I asked for, and got them. They arrived on Sunday.

Monday was a public holiday here, and I decided to exercise (being not entirely flippant) my human rights and spend it in the kitchen. Two things were on the agenda: koeksisters and Passata. Because of their respective processes, the schedule would work.

img_0.695148337731449.jpg

Those two buckets of tomatoes represent two thirds of the crate of tomatoes that I processed on Monday:

img_0.1152254267296986.jpgStage 1

img_0.5692246696842049.jpgStage 2.

This batch took just over 7.5kg of tomatoes. I am getting better at judging the likely yield of batches - thanks to making umpteen batches of marmalade, knowing what my stock pot holds and how much goes into a myriad of jar sizes.

All these jars, waiting to be sterilised, came from folk who collect old jars that I then fill. Sometimes with new lids or if the lids are still sound, The Husband sprays the multi-coloured, branded ones, black.

img_0.8047408641565221.jpg

This batch of Passata made 17 jars based on the recipe in Katie Caldesi's Italian Cookery Course.

img_0.17253622504089144.jpg

I have the rest of the still to go. Yes, I have a plan. There are more of the "tomato diaries 2022" to come.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script
If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking on the logo.

Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script
If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking on the logo.

Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency