Slow Sunday

Yesterday was a day of rumination and reflection. I had planned to share - after a long time ago promise - a sourdough recipe. But this is what came out. While. Supper cooked itself.

img_0.08872836412230484.jpg

Slow - like 7 hours cooked in the slow cooker - shoulder of lamb. It literally fell off the bone. It was finished off in the oven and the liquid reduced to make the gravy and seasoning adjusted accordingly.

img_0.2858549338802881.jpg

I seeded the joint with garlic and rosemary and it sat on whole carrots and pearl onions. The "stock", I made from 1 mutton stock cube, about 30ml spicy plum jam and 125ml muscadel rosé that we will never drink and water to make 2 cups.

img_0.8921004577857883.jpg

Accompaniments: rustic mustard potato mash and rosemary and lemon beans and courgettes (aka zucchini aka baby marrows).

img_0.37274215013099327.jpg

The Husband piled his plate!

We were so lucky to have had the opportunity to get half a lamb at an excellent price: we are eking it out. This shoulder should feed us for at least 2 more meals.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma Post script

I am participating in @traciyork's twice-yearly Hive Blog Posting Month.


If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised applications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking on the logo.

Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency