Friday Files: peachy

img_0.6953391225034836.jpg

Yesterday was (and Sunday will also be) about peaches. A triple batch of peach chutney took most of the day, along with the usual buns.

C who sells seasonal fruits and vegetables that he gets directly from the farmers, delivered them in his wheelbarrow on Tuesday. Remember, the other day, I warned that there was more than just capsicums? (I hope to get more today).

img_0.04865285412147207.jpg

They occupied the whole of our little outside fridge. This is just over half of them. The balance will must be jammed on Sunday which is slated to be 44°C....

img_0.8423326381968647.jpg

Last night's supper of fishcake on the Thai slaw that didn't get into a jar for the market today. I recommend the combination for a change and have made a mental note to make more fish cakes. As fresh fish is hard to come by, this is an ok second, if not third option.

Now, it's 6.30am. The bread is in the oven and it is already 21°C. I am gearing for a hot and potentially quiet market. It's the middle of January, hot and our international visitors haven't started returning. Yet.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script
If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking on the logo.

Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency