'Aloe, it's pasta. Again!

img_0.6127669585413075

Yes, the title's a bit cheesy and perhaps I should tell the story of how a former colleague and I dealt with that cheese when we were, ahem, in the aloe business. I digress...

The aloes are beginning to go over but the birds - like this weaver - still love them. I am going to miss their sunny, morning greeting through the front door when they are gone. The aloe blooms, that is!

Pasta again.

I know it's boring that we have pasta every Wednesday, but truth be told, I could eat pasta virtually every night of the week, so to restrict it to just one night, is, well, umm... Anyhow, this week, it with a homemade tomato sauce base. I must explain again: tomatoes are out of season and we've not been having so many salads. The quality of the tomatoes has left much to be desired and are often not ripe. Anyhow, anyone who knows anything about tomatoes (I learned from my father), knows never to put them in the fridge, so these had not just continued ripening, but had developed, ahem, a little like me, the odd wrinkle. That made them not great for salad, but still good enough for cooking. I simply blanched them to take of the skins, chopped them and popped them in a pot with some olive oil, two huge cloves of garlic and a bay leaf and let them bubble into a sauce while I prepared everything else.

The final product: pasta and tomato sauce with some crispy bacon bits and topped with roasted yellow pepper strips and fresh parsley. Served with boerenkaas. There was a side salad...but no pics.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script
If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking on the logo.

Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency