One Supper, Two Jars, Four Bowls

After a long day, on Monday, I was glad to have two plant-based jar salads in the fridge.

The barley and lentil from the week before (stores so well in glass), I turned into a quick, warm, tomato risotto. Why? Because, again, the weather's doing its spring thing and sprung back to winter... Well, it feels like that, anyway, and we needed warmth.

A little while ago, I reduced some fresh tomato soup into a thick tomato sauce which I used for pasta. I had stored what was left in a jar in the fridge. With some extra onion sauteed in olive oil, I tossed in the barley salad and then added the tomato "sauce".

The second jar, the roasted carrot, almond and plum salad from Saturday's market. It's one we are really enjoying. I will post the recipe on my WordPress/Hive blogs in the next while. The original post and recipe is another that is in the blockchain but not on WP any more. So, an update will both reconstitute that post. It was, if my growing Fiona's Favourite collection of "made up" unique recipes is anything to go by, was about doing carrots two ways.

Oh and because it's pretty, all served in pretty bowls...

There you have it: one supper for two, from two jars in four bowls.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

    Silver Bloggers footer banner 300 x 150.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency