Thunderstruck

I had planned something entirely different for today's post. As usual, of late, anyway, stuff happened. Firstly, we had a meeting for one of the projects we're working on, and both my collaborator and I, left. Thunderstruck. The details are not important, but certain things are having to be reassessed. One way or another, it'll be sorted.

Then, I sat down at my laptop to start working through the rest of my list and to the news that the country was, in the next ten minutes, to be mostly powerless. Again. Ahead of the country going to the polls for local government elections, this is, well, pun intended: electrifying.

Mercifully and I say this very quietly, they usually forget to flip the switch in the village. With stage 4, as it was yesterday afternoon, I didn't think we'd be so lucky. But we were, and our scheduled slot came and went. I checked quite a few things off my list.

And then.

Lightening. Then thunder.

The lights went out. My screen went black. Mercifully it's a monitor plugged into the laptop. I could close and save everything. I lost two hours of my day. And at a time of day when I am at my most productive. Sigh.

Fortunately, it was late afternoon and into dusk so I adjusted the menu and The Husband lit a fire. We stoep sat and listened to the birds settle into the dark. The air was filled with petrichor and the fragrance of syringa blossom. And roses. And as darkness settled in, hooting owls.

Again, I am revelling in our blooming garden and how more and more of what goes into our salad bowl, is garden loot.

Lemon balm with the first of the chives and sweet basil.

Last night's salad included the combination I mentioned last week: stawberries and sweet basil.

A good end to a somewhat electrifying day.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

    Silver Bloggers footer banner 300 x 150.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency