Cracking the crunch. Or. Crunching the crack...

Tuesday suppers are often built around already prepared food. Commonly known as leftovers. It's a long story, but I am careful when I use that term because some people just don't "do" leftovers. That said, the best cold chicken is from a chicken cooked in the Weber - it's succulent and has a lovely smokey flavour. Two of us simply cannot finish a whole one. Nor will I throw the remains out. Nor will I throw out leftover roasted vegetables. Or pickling brine.

Technically, only the green salad wasn't made from left overs. The vinaigrette, though, and which also dressed the cauliflower was.

I made it with some of the pickling brine which I had left and to which I added honey, wholegrain mustard and olive oil. It works particularly well with the cold, leftover roasted cauliflower.

The leftovers salads will become my lunch and because there is still chicken left, we will have pies or wraps later in the week.

Speaking of which, Monday's meatfree meal:

It was wraps again.

The plant-based red bean chilli out of jars and which were left over from the market were a godsend at the end of a Monday and when I needed to chill.

I am learning how to manage the frozen wraps and how to keep them pliable and so that they do, in fact wrap. And not crunch.

Instead of lettuce to give extra crunch, I used shredded Swiss chard from the garden.

Without the cheese, this meal would be vegan.

About cracking the crunch:

It's funny how things happen in clumps. So it is now and in RL I seem to be chasing my tail. It's all good and I know I am being cryptic, but bear with me. Some of what I am working on, will become the subjects of my burbling on my blog.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

    Silver Bloggers footer banner 300 x 150.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency