The Long Night Ahead


Everybody has their place at the Fairgrounds. It is a purpose-driven week and we are awaiting the reason for all of the shuffling of ponies around the island. The swim brought the ponies from Assateague Island to Chincoteague Island to auction the foals. This is done for the sole purpose of controlling the size of the herd. The island is small and would not be sustainable if the population wasn't controlled. It is also the largest fundraiser for the Chincoteague Volunteer Fire Department. The Chincoteague Volunteer Fire Company (CVFDC) owns the Ponies. and they provide their vaccines, veterinary care if needed, and hoof care, although I did not know that they do their hooves. The ponies are an easy keep as they do not need to be shoed. I own one and he never has had shoes, just a little trim now and then. If the winter is exceptionally harsh, they provide hay, so this fundraiser is important to the Firemen and the town.


IMG_4578a.JPG


The Coast Guard patrols the waters of Chincoteague Island. They kick off the Pony Swim and take care of the navigatable waters in the area. Their station is located:
Coast guard station in Chincoteague, Virginia
3823 Main St, Chincoteague, VA 23336
Hours: Open 24 hours
Phone: (757) 336-2874


IMG_4310.JPG


Chincoteague used to be a peaceful little fishing village until it wasn't. It exploded as a destination with the popularity of the book "Misty of Chincoteague," a children's novel written by Marguerite Henry that was set on Chincoteague Island.


IMG_2165b.JPG


Fishing is king! In the spring, there is flounder, this is the best time for them, they tend to be larger, striped bass and drumfish can be found in the bay and I have caught them in the surf. In the summer: flounder, trout, croaker, sea bass, kingfish, and spot in the bay as well as the surf. Heads up! There are bluefin and yellowfin tuna offshore.


We have already talked about crabs and scallops and clams, oh my! There is no reason to ever go hungry.


IMG_5357.JPG


I never tire of the beach. I never tire of fishing, clamming, scalloping, or crabbing. It is probably because I don't go every day. I guess it is like gardening in some ways. There is work to be done, but, the reward is free food. You just cannot beat that. So the sea is good to me and I, in turn, must be good to her. Take good care of our earth and she will take good care of you.

Center Crest.png

Thursday's Upcoming Events:

Misty of Chincoteague playing at the Island Theater, Free Admission, 1 pm
Family movie night: Island Theater - National Velvet. $5.00 for adults and children under 9 are free. 7 pm at the Island Theatre
Chincoteague Fireman's Carnival 7 pm - 11 pm at the Carnival Grounds
Trolley Service Last call 11 pm at Carnival stop $0.50 per ride


IMG_0056a.JPG


Tomorrow will be the big auction, so tonight they will take the mama ponies and will put them in the barn stalls to make the morning easier. The separation is never easy for me. It is part of what needs to happen, but, I am not sure that makes it any better. My heart is a little heavy when I left, I know there will be babies and mothers calling into the wind tonight. The little ones are tired and lay flat down on the ground and take a nap. It has been a long day. tomorrow will be longer and a little confusing for them. Sleep well, little guys.


IMG_4690a.JPG


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


drinking.jpg


Get here early. It is always crowded and the auction starts bright and shiny at 8 am. Thank you for taking the time to visit my post. It's been a long day and I am calling it a night. And just like that, this post is over. Come back tomorrow and we will do it again.

download.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost



#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg

IMG_0042a.JPG

𝓣𝓱𝓮 𝓔𝓷𝓭

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
60 Comments
Ecency