This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

A few hectic days

The last few days have been hectic, eventful and exhausting, and I've barely had time to be in Hive.

But today things seem to be settling down, and life goes on.

This week my sister had to undergo surgery. Fortunately, everything went well and yesterday afternoon, she was released from the hospital. She has to be on rest to finish her recovery, but everything is going fine and in a few weeks, she will be back into her routine.

MomGarden1.jpg

Despite the hectic pace of life, we need to take some time to take a breath
and admire the perks that nature puts in our way.

Also these days, my uncle passed away, one of my dad's brother. He was quite old and had been physically deteriorating a little more each day. And although his departure was not unexpected, we are never fully prepared to let go of our loved ones.

My uncle was a very special person who left his mark on all who knew him. He was so funny and nice. He had a good life with its ups and downs and a lot of curve balls to deal with along the way. But he was always an example of honesty, of how to see the beautiful side of life and how with love and family support you can face the hardest moments of life.

Yesterday, I went with my aunt, his sister and the only one of my dad's siblings who is alive, who paradoxically is the oldest of the four siblings, and one of my cousins to Maracay, the city where my uncle lived to give him the last goodbye.

My uncle lived as he wanted and also died as he wanted. He always said that on the day of his funeral, there was no need to be sad and that he wanted his goodbye with Mariachis. One of his nieces, who was like a daughter to him, obeyed him and brought some Mariachis to sing El Rey at the funeral.

I am fortunate for the family I have. I grew up surrounded by love and I have a trunk full of beautiful memories and that is a great treasure.

My uncle Pata as he was affectionately known will always be remembered by those of us who were lucky enough to know him. There is a quote by the Latin American writer Isabel Allende that comes to my mind.

There is no death. People die only when we forget them, If you can remember me, I will be with you always.

“La muerte no existe, la gente sólo muere cuando la olvidan; si puedes recordarme, siempre estaré contigo.”
― Isabel Allende - Cuentos de Eva Luna

And that quote encloses a big truth. Those we remember, always live in our hearts.

Thank you for reading!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

July 11, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.