Grandparent stories contest entry: @christinepoulos

papou.jpeg
A picture of my Dad skiing on one ski in his seventies

I was never fortunate to have grandparents in my life as my mother's father died at a very young age and my grandmother, although I met her was not in my life. Both my father's parents also were not alive when I was growing up.

I'm very sad also that although I am already 71 this month, I have no grandchildren - yet. I'm hoping that my son Jack and his wife will have a baby soon so that I can be the kind of grandmother that my mother was.

Both my parents taught me many beautiful lessons. My mother used to take my son Jack into the garden and tell him about all the plants and flowers, the feel, the touch, the smell. That had such an amazing impact on me and one day I will do that for my grandchildren.

My father was a great grandfather to my son Jack and started him off on his love of computers and technology. He would be so proud today of what Jack has achieved in creating a computer game and now selling his NFT's on line - almost a sell out.

Alas, my mother died at an early age - she was only 64 and didn't get to meet her other grandchildren, Lee and Eden. How proud she would have been of their accomplishments. Lee got his Bsc in Property Development at the University of Cape Town in South Africa and Eden has been in music - full time from the age of 14. She started with piano at the age of 6.

What am I doing, drifting off to talk about my three wonderful and talented children again.

At least my two youngest also got to be with his grandchildren. Eden was 9 and Lee was 12 when he died.

I believe that all people who have experienced grandparents should embrace the wonderful privilege of having them.

I wonder if this is why I love old people. Always enjoy having some fellowship with them.

With all my moves lately, my photographs are sadly in storage and I have searched without any luck to find some on my computer.

_03_cardexamples.png
These are my son's NFT's

Thanks to @galenkp for organising this contest.

To join: You can find the contest here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency