Study For @brujita18




The subject of education has been one of the topics that those of us who still have school-age children touch on from time to time, when we see the differences between our education system and the current one, and many of us parents agree that there are many negative and positive differences. At least in my time, back in the 80's and 90's I lived in a library looking for information for my homework and research, I had to read, analyze, summarize, could not record or take pictures, because we did not think about having cell phones, only in our dreams or in the comics, as today kids do with their cell phones ...

Unlike the example, one of my children is in elementary school and the other in high school. They look for information and research on the internet, that helps them and saves them time and work, but it also has its negative side... because they get used to use the online tools, the different apps, that they have at their disposal to do what we had to do without those aids, such as analysis, summaries, drawings and so on and they are supposed to be there to help, but in my opinion sometimes it limits them to have to think for themselves, read enough and have a good analysis capacity....

In many cases they don't know how to do that..., with my children I try to implement some old school tools, alternating them with the new tools of today. And one of them is reading, because to my understanding, the one who reads opens up a world of learning, they learn to write, they learn new words, their vocabulary is enriched, they learn to summarize and analyze and in my case it has not been easy, having to in certain ways sit them down and help them with these things, but it has given me good results, since they are able to do all these things without resorting to the internet or any App.



Source

My teenage daughter, whenever she has homework that involves analyzing, writing, or she has doubts about how to write a word, she consults me, but as a last resort or if she is in a hurry, because otherwise she goes to her dictionary and if it is some writing she looks for different connectors to avoid redundancy and I must say that she does it very well, she is a student who likes to do things well, fortunately. On certain occasions she has told me that her classmates prefer to be with her in group work because none of them likes to read or write, much less organize or analyze and some of these activities, she always takes them and she likes to help them in these tasks too, explaining and helping them.

With my youngest child I am following the same way of teaching and there it goes. But I remember that in my time my parents were not aware of my assignments as such, they only provided me with what I needed to do them; they wanted the results. On one occasion we were already at the end of the course and there was a subject in which I was not very good and it was mathematics...I lacked a point to be able to pass it without problems and my teacher was not going to give it to me, I had to earn it, it was like that before and for that I had to take an exam where my grade had to be perfect, I should not make a mistake.

Imagine my nerves, I studied like crazy, I couldn't fail because if I didn't, I would have to repeat the year and I didn't want to imagine my parents' reprimand or their disappointment, because I had never failed before; I must tell you that I finished my exam shaking, I was the only one who was presenting, since the teacher made that exception with me taking into account that my other subjects were with very good grades; I handed in the exam and the teacher reviewed it in front of me and my classmates, each exercise in which he put the sign of good, it was a sigh that could be heard throughout the classroom. ..

At that moment I was on the verge of a nervous breakdown, when he finished reviewing and placing his last good on the last exercise, at that moment I burst into tears, the pressure had been too much, while my classmates congratulated me, that was in high school and to graduate from high school. The teacher simply congratulated me and said "you have earned your point" and left. That level of commitment today is not handled in the same way, maybe they would consider it "psychological abuse" or what do I know, what I do know is that I felt fulfilled by achieving my goal, which was to graduate by my own effort literally and that feeling is great, maybe that's why they say we are the iron generation, because that's how we were educated, with firmness and effort.



Source

It was a pleasure to participate in the Blog of the Month - May 2023 and to be able to share with you one of my favorite stages, from my study days, some things I lived during that time; that's why I invite my beautiful friend @actioncats to participate, greetings!



Separators
Banner @brujita18

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency