A Brush with Death in an Eye of a Storm.

My friend @lizelle, reminded me of the time Peter and I were caught in a terrible storm in Durban a good few years ago. Lizelle said I should write a post about our experience. I was a bit reluctant at first because it brought back some funny and very sad memories.
I don't have photographs of the flood, or of my friend Marie, so Peter drew some sketches for me.

We were on our way to a Writers Guild Dinner, and had to give my friend Marie Thorpe a lift.

I am writing this post with a heavy heart today; and would like to dedicate this in memory of my dear friend Marie Thorpe, award winning author of novels and short stories, who was brutally murdered in her flat in Durban South Africa six years ago.

marie.jpg

A sketch of my friend Marie Thorpe

Marie, you were an amazing person, eccentric in character, but still, kept a level head. You will never know what a great inspiration you were to me.
Although you were fighting a battle against anorexia and other psychological problems, you always had time for me, listening patiently to my frustrations and battles when it came to writing giving me valid advise and directing me in the direction you thought I should go, you never showed the pain and suffering you were silently going through psychologically, only when one looked into your eyes, could one see the pain and sadness, never sharing those deep dark secrets with anyone, one could only depict them in your characters through your brilliant writing.
I still have your draft that you Ileen Molver and Janet Nicholson wrote together on how to write short stories. I will cherish these few chapters forever, you were my friend and were loved by me and my girls.
R.I.P. my dearest friend, the world has lost a brilliant and talented writer, you are sorely missed by us all, may you live on for ever through your stories you have written over the years.
You were an amazing woman and author, and you touched my life in a exceptional way.

hands.jpg

draft 4.jpg

Draft of "How to write a Short Story

draft.jpg

TV Script titled "Mr and Mss Management" I wrote in one of our writers circles workshop, many years ago.

The Night of the Storm
Peter and I were looking forward to the dinner and fetching Marie on the way. I had my hair done at the hairdressers and bought a new outfit for the occasion.
We dropped the girls off at my mother in law that night and set off on our journey across town, it was drizzling a bit, nothing serious we thought.
Oh my hat! as we turned into Umbilo close to where Marie lived, the rain came pelting down in buckets, before we knew what was happening, our car started floating, we were close to the Umbilo River Canal which bursts it's banks and flooded the area, causing havoc, a huge bus came floating by pushing our car to the side of the road against a lamp pole.

storm.jpg

Peter suggested we get out of the car and stand on the pavement. The water was already close to window height, I pushed the door open and climbed out when this gush of water came from no where pushing me into the murky water, I felt Peter grab my arm and pull me to the side of the pavement, I felt a suction on my foot and my sandal disappeared.
"Where are you going, didn't you see the storm water drain", Peter frantically screamed holding me tight, I could feel his heart pounding furiously in his chest.
"My shoes gone", I whimpered.
"Lucky you weren't sucked in there, or you would also be gone", he replied.
I just couldn't believe what was happening to us, everything happened so fast and violently.
We had to leave the car floating down the road and walk to Marie's house, which was about 30 minutes walk from where we were.
I caught a glimpse of myself in a shop window, my new dress clung to my body like a wet-suite, my immaculately styled hairdo totally ruined, my mascara and makeup now one big mess on my face, I looked like a scene out of a horror movie, I thought; there is no way I am going to any dinner party looking like a drowned rat.

walking in the storm.jpg

As we were walking along the pavement, the water almost knee high and the rain still pelting down, I felt something pop around my hips, it was the elastic in my undies, I stopped for a moment as it found it's way down to my ankles, then discreetly stepped out of them, not looking back or sideways, I carried on walking, holding Peters hand tightly, thank goodness, we were almost there, it felt like the longest 30 minute walk I ever experienced.
Peter looked back worried about our car and wondering if it would ever be able to be repaired after the ordeal.
I walked into the block of flats and up a flight of steps to Marie's flat, knocking on her door frantically.
"What the hell happened to you two", she gasped slightly amused by the sight of us.
As we explained our ordeal to her, she brought dry clothes for Peter from her husband Jim's wardrobe, he was away at the time visiting his sister.
Marie found a pretty blue dress that fitted me perfectly and a pair of new undies she had just bought, I washed the rest of the make up off my face and combed my hair the best I could. I borrowed a pair of shoes that was two sizes to big for me.
"I'm not going to the dinner, not now", I said peevishly.
Marie was already on the phone to have some one pick us up from her house.
"Yes you are going", she replied, she wasn't going to take no for an answer, so off we went.
We had a good old laugh about it afterwards, everything went well at the dinner. A couple who lived in our neighborhood, gave us a lift home.
The next morning, Peter and his brother went to see what damage had been done to the car. They were surprised to find the car in tact and was able to start. The only damage was the drenched upholstery and debris from the storm stuck to the seats.

That was our ordeal in the storm, I believe we had our heavenly angels looking after us that night, never want to go through that ever again. Things could have turned into a tragedy, but it didn't and I am thankful for that. I hope you enjoyed it.

Hive animated divider 1.gif

HIVE SILVER BLOGGERS SUBSCRIPTION LINK:

If you're between the ages of 40 and 100 and have a passion for blogging and cryptocurrency plus have some wisdom to share, please stop by and subscribe to the new exciting Hive Silver Bloggers Community that is already attracting some of the best talent here on Hive.

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos property of @artywink
Original content by @artywink

stormy.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency