How The Pandemic Changed My Life.

untitled.gif

It was three weeks to my final exams. A class of 2019 had somewhat found its way into 2020, no thanks to the constant ASUU strike plus other strikes which affected our university and hospital training.

I was glad a phase of my life was wrapping up after the delays encountered, none of which was my fault.

We had lots of end of school activities piled up; sendforth, Hangouts, dinner/award giving night.

Life was moving quite as planned.


It began as a news of this deadly virus that originated from China. My thought was, it would be curbed locally, but that was short lived as it blew out of proportion and into a pandemic.

The notices were out. We were to vacate the hostels and return to our homes.
Transportation stopped. Inter state travels banned.

Major markets were locked, leaving out the small local food stores and pharmacy.

Everywhere was on lockdown!

Never seen a thing like this in my before. Never felt like a prisoner in my own home.
Freedom was snatched; freedom to move about freely, freedom to socialize, freedom to live without the thought of a virus.

I reunited back with my family except for my sister in China.
We had to find a way to get to our hometown to farm and produce food crops as my mom was temporarily out of job and I hadn't any. She was a teacher and schools weren't operating.
I frequented the farm, harvested cassava, pilled, grind, dried and fried it to become garri. Helped in milling palm oil, plucked fruits and leaves, just so we can feed as we weren't actively earning money.

I lived in the hope that the pandemic will go down the following week. Instead, the news of the infected cases and death rates were on the rise.

My life was on hold.

With each passing day the feeling of my life being paused and the depressed state of mind was beginning to bother me.

People still had their lives forging through the media. Not me, sadly. I already had a routine I was used to and it took so much time to adjust.

At a point, I resigned my fate to just staying alive. Nothing else mattered.

I couldn't travel like I used to in previous years for conferences, ceremonies and leisures. We connected to the world via our phones.

Thankfully, none of us had caught Covid but our lifestyles were modified.

It took another one year for my final exams to eventually hold.


The world feels a lot different now. Conferences are still being held online, some businesses have been moved and thriving online.
Cost of transportation remained high.
Covid protocols are still as valid as ever and I'm wondering, when will it all end?


There's still Covid. Different variants. When will it be completely over?


I learnt to appreciate the gift of a healthy life, family and loved ones. It was what mattered then, not the money or the buzz of hustling. We all wanted a chance to life.


You can't tell what tomorrow brings, except that this very tomorrow is Thursday😅
Live every day like it matters.
Love all you can.
Make memories you'd be fond of.
Be flexible enough to create alternatives as nothing last forever.
It's Covid today, could be something else tomorrow.

Selah.



IMG_20210129_074525_073.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency