Hive Open Mic | Week 57 | A Conversation With Hope (Original Song)


It’s Thursday and here’s another theme for Hive Open Mic Week. This week’s theme is ‘Optimism’, something that we all need right now because of whatever is happening in the world right now.

Sometimes it can get really hard to believe things will get better, especially in times of sadness, disappointment and pain - when you think nothing is going your way.

I think I’ve kind of been a pessimist all my life. It’s easier to point out and focus on the worst outcomes or look at the darker side of things. And that indirectly affected me and the choices I’ve made. I would purposely avoid taking chances or try out new things because I dwelled on the negatives, and mentally prepared myself for failure. And that looped over and over again. I addressed the fears and the problems in the beginning, and even though I would work hard towards it, it felt like nothing was working.

And then I came across a quote -

‘Think like an optimist. Prepare like a pessimist’

I was 50% there. I started saying ‘yes’ to doing more things - started looking at the bigger picture and taking up and being open to more opportunities. It is a mindset thing at the end of the day.

I still struggle on a day to day basis with pessimism but I believe I’ve found a better balance now. At one point, I was terrified of even putting up posts or putting up videos of me playing music but here I am. One step at a time I guess.

It’s okay to not be a 100% optimist at all times.
Just gotta think your best, prepare your best, do your best, and then hope for the best.

If it’s in your control, do something about it. If it isn’t, stop worrying about it.

Here’s a short piano track I composed called ‘A Conversation With Hope’. Just imagined the inner pessimist and optimist having a conversation.
I put some nature sounds in the background of the track because I thought it added to the vibe of the song.

I hope you like it :)


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency