HIVE OPEN MIC Week 128 (Theme - Desamor/Heartbreak): Cover Song "Old Love" by Eric Clapton


Hello everybody on Hive and especially the Hive Open Mic Community! My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town South Africa!

This is Week 128 of the Hive Open Mic Challenge, and the theme for the week is "Desamor"! According to Google Translate, this is the Spanish word to describe "Heartbreak".

Is there a theme with more potential songs to choose from? I'm sure Adele has 100 of them by herself! Haha!

Eventually I settled on transposing a beautiful song by Eric Clapton to suit my voice. It is called "Old Love".

The original songs has a beautiful riff. The version I know best is the unplugged version from MTV in 1992 (remember when MTV actually was about music? :) ) which had a great acoustic guitar solo by Eric Clapton, and an equally great piano solo by Chuck Leavell.

Please check that version of the original here, followed by the lyrics, and I will see you next week?

Lyrics

I can feel your body
When I'm lying in my bed
Too much confusion
Going 'round through my head

Makes me so angry
To know that the flame still burns
Why can't I get over?
When will I ever learn?

Old love
Leave me alone
Old love
Go on home

I can see your face
But I know that it's not real
Just an illusion
Caused by how I used to feel

Makes me so angry
To know now that the flame will always burn
Never get over
Know now that I'll never learn

Old love
Leave me alone
Old love
Go on home


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency