Hive Open Mic Week # 58 ~ " Down By The Waves" Original Song


image.png

A few years ago I read an article that explored the possibility that water holds memories. I really liked the idea of this and the fact that water has the ability to exist in a liquid, gas, and solid form. Even when it seems as though it disappears, it is just in a phase of transition, with each transition new memories are formed and old ones remain imprinted. It changes and evolves but it still returns.

With this in mind and following suit, on the idea of water and memory, from my dear friends, @queenoftheworld, and @audiohive-me, I wanted to share this song about my love of the oceans and the seas that interconnect and make up our beautiful planet. All life on earth needs water and it was the building block for the evolution of life.

I started writing this song about 2 years ago. It only had one verse until I worked on it some more a few months ago. Every time I practice it, it makes me think of my beautiful friend @riverflows and picture her out on her surfboard catching the waves, knowing how much happiness she feels when out on the water. It's still a work in progress but I wanted to share a song with a happy feel to it. I did it in one take and even left in the bit at the beginning where I play the wrong chord.


image.png

Down By The Waves

Down by the waves,
Is where I see her
oh yeah, down by the waves

Into the sea
Is where I feel oh
Where I feel so free

Every drop of water holds
A memory so dear
Down by the waves

Pebbles roll, around the shore
Roll a little bit more
The tide comes in
And it goes back out
And I will be down by the sea

Every drop of water holds
A memory so dear
Down by the waves

See the seaweed swish and sway
I wouldn't have it any other way
Oh yeah,
Down by the waves

Down by the waves,
Is where I see her
oh yeah, down by the waves

~ONE LOVE~


image.png


image.png

Acknowledgments

In the Hive Open Mic community, every week is an inspiring musical journey. Here, talented musicians bring their gifts to the virtual stage, reaching around the world. Listeners gain human connection on levels of heart and mind, including people of various cultures and languages. This is the harmonizing power of music.
"Gratitude goes to the originators of Hive, who planted the seeds for us to grow and flourish here. Gratitude goes to the @OCD Incubation Program and other community cultivators, allowing newcomers to find their niches and comfort zones. Gratitude goes to all the people who share their energy here, helping each other to thrive".@cabelindsay

image.png

***

image.png

***

abundance-tribe2.gif

***

ecoTrain_logo_main.png
***

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency