🎵 Hive Open Mic 38 - “Solo” [Live Music Highlights]

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, inviting creative expression and genuine connection.


Hive Open Mic - Highlights

Week 38: December 27, 2020 - January 2, 2021

HiveOpenMic38B2.png

Today's live music showcase features our 38th weekly live music event, with the following theme: “Solo”. Highlights include songs about lost love, longing for connection, flying solo, soaring as an individual... We celebrate diversity and variety. Our community stands for global harmony, celebrating the songs of many nations, all sharing a love for live music—the universal language. Let's have a listen.


🌟

Spotlight

Billo's Medley (Cover) by @ylich


View the Original Post

English: Listen to the rhythm this man carries through the strings here. It is mesmerizing to me. Carries such a lively, vibrant energy. I can notice the music moving me, propelling me to feel the music through my legs, my heart, by entire body. How fun! This one is so festive, well-timed, bright and upbeat. I really feel the rhythm, resonating in my body, bringing me to nod, sway, and dance.

Spanish: Escuche el ritmo que este hombre lleva a través de las cuerdas aquí. Me fascina. Lleva una energía tan vivaz y vibrante. Puedo notar la música moviéndome, impulsándome a sentir la música a través de mis piernas, mi corazón, por todo el cuerpo. ¡Que divertido! Este es tan festivo, oportuno, brillante y optimista. Realmente siento el ritmo, resonando en mi cuerpo, llevándome a asentir, balancearme y bailar.


More Highlights

Song Of The Lark (Cover) by @mipiano


View the Original Post

It is good to see and hear this artist's extraordinary talents as a pianist. Even more impressive is the presence she brings to our community, through her awareness of the songs she carries, including the history of these songs, plus her natural way of commenting and encouraging other artists, and an apparent fascination with music as a whole. I appreciate the energy she brings here.

In this song, by Tchaikovsky, we're hearing @mipiano's ultra-fast piano action resembling the song of the meadowlark. I know this bird well from my youth, when her early morning songs were etched into my heart. To me, this is a good example of Tchaikovsky's special way of incorporating the natural world into his musical compositions. I aspire to do the same, as nature inspires me.


No Quiero Estar Solo / I Don't Want To Be Alone (Original) by @lecumberre


View the Original Post

English: This man's original song is sublime, to me. I feel it deeply. It saddens me to think about the situation of a solo person on an occasion for a party, especially the holiday festivities. In fact, I faced a similar situation this year, being on daddy duty for New Year's Eve. In my case, the kids and I had a blast, but there was a familiar longing to ring in the new year with a dance and romance. My wish is that we folks fly solo find a special place in our hearts to connect with the divine: Mother. Father. Child. With these, we never are alone.

"Upon bequeathing two thousand twenty-one I want to be in that choir to shout to the whole world: Happy year to all!" –@lecumberre

Spanish: La canción original de este hombre es sublime para mí. Lo siento profundamente. Me entristece pensar en la situación de una persona solitaria en una ocasión para una fiesta, especialmente las festividades navideñas. De hecho, enfrenté una situación similar este año, estando de servicio paterno para la víspera de Año Nuevo. En mi caso, los niños y yo lo pasamos genial, pero había un anhelo familiar de recibir el año nuevo con un baile y un romance. Mi deseo es que los que volamos solos encontremos un lugar especial en nuestros corazones para conectarnos con lo divino: la Madre. Padre. Niño. Con estos, nunca estamos solos.

"Al legar dos mil veintiuno quiero estar en ese coro que le grite al mundo entero: ¡Feliz año para todos!" –@lecumberre


Loca Por Ti / Crazy For You (Cover) by @jesuslnrs


View the Original Post

English: I like the way this artist positions himself with a setting that reflects the message of his song. He is so thoughtful like that. This music suits this week's "Solo" theme perfectly: a song about lost love.

Spanish: Me gusta la forma en que este artista se posiciona con un escenario que refleja el mensaje de su canción. Él es tan pensativo así. Esta música encaja perfectamente con el tema "Solo" de esta semana: una canción sobre el amor perdido.


En Ausencia de Ti / In the Absence of You (Cover) by @daniel2001

View the Original Post

English: Here's an excerpt of a song about missing a lost loved one, by Laura Pausini. I appreciate this artist for running with this week's theme and finding a "Solo" song that resonates with him, as many other of this week's musicians have done. I'm glad to hear him playing piano, accompanying his voice in a good way, allowing our community to get to know him a little more closely. Very pleasant.

Spanish: Aquí hay un extracto de una canción sobre la pérdida de un ser querido perdido, de Laura Pausini. Agradezco a este artista por seguir con el tema de esta semana y encontrar una canción "Solo" que resuene con él, como lo han hecho muchos otros músicos de esta semana. Me alegra escucharlo tocar el piano, acompañar su voz de una buena manera, permitiendo que nuestra comunidad lo conozca un poco más de cerca. Muy agradable.


Nostalgia del Ayer / Nostalgia for Yesterday (Original) by @juliopalomo


View the Original Post

English: This original song feels relatable to me. I've been there with these familiar melancholy feelings. I'm hearing this artist's sophistication as a songwriter, with meaningful metaphors and a tone that is reflective of the subject matter, while keeping it all moving energetically. Nice work.

Spanish: Me siento identificado con esta canción original. He estado allí con estos familiares sentimientos de melancolía. Escucho la sofisticación de este artista como compositor, con metáforas significativas y un tono que refleja el tema, mientras lo mantiene todo moviéndose enérgicamente. Buen trabajo.


Jam in B (Original) by @andrewmusic


View the Original Post

English: This guitarist gives us an excellent solo improvisation on electric guitar, like a star. Stellar!

Spanish: Este guitarrista nos regala una excelente improvisación en solitario con guitarra eléctrica, como una estrella. ¡Estelar!


Fix You (Cover) by @pedrovivaz


View the Original Post

English: This artist offers a tremendous glimpse into the fabulous song, "Fix You", by Coldplay.

Spanish: Este artista ofrece una visión tremenda de la fabulosa canción, "Fix You", de Coldplay.


Solo (Original) by @jesusmedit

View the Original Post

English: I enjoy seeing and hearing the passion this artist puts into his music. It's like a battlefield and his music is a sword, slaying the fears, doubt, grief, sadness... until only love remains. Like a true warrior of the light. That's beautiful to me.

"Best of all is being able to sit down with your guitar and express yourself with it." —@jesusmedit

Spanish: Disfruto viendo y escuchando la pasión que este artista pone en su música. Es como un campo de batalla y su música es una espada, matando los miedos, la duda, el dolor, la tristeza ... hasta que solo queda el amor. Como un verdadero guerrero de la luz. Eso es hermoso para mi.

"Lo mejor de todo es poderse sentar con tu guitarra y expresarte junto a ella." —@jesusmedit


Sin Fronteras (Original) by @brujulamusical


View the Original Post

English: Great artistry here in an original song, carried live by the Hive artist @brujulamusical.

Spanish: Gran arte aquí en una canción original, transmitida en vivo por el artista de Hive @brujulamusical.


Another Lonely Day (Cover) by @cabelindsay


View the Original Post

“Another Lonely Day” is a song by Ben Harper. To me, this music is raw, rooted, down-to-earth folk music, simple and beautiful. I find it comforting as I intentionally look at the loneliness that is showing up in my life, like a shadow. I feel this song shines a bright light on that dark and dim state in order to illuminate the fears and let it all go.


HiveOpenMic38C.png

Acknowledgements

Hive Open Mic showcases live music on Hive. I honor these gifted and talented musicians for expressing themselves in a real, raw, relatable way that creates connection. To me, we all benefit through the camaraderie between musicians and music fans, sharing a musical community. Please join me in extending our gratitude through claps, finger snaps, comments, upvotes, and tips to the individual artists.


Inspiration

Trampled By Turtles is an American bluegrass band, home in Minnesota. This song is a good example of their excellence as musicians and song carriers. I love the feeling of this music, intricate string work, elegant vocal harmonies... synchronized energy. I also love the sentiments in the words.

"You come into the world alone. You go out of the world alone. But in between is you and me." —Trampled By Turtles

One YouTube comment says: "Sometimes, shitty things happen. When we are faced with hard times, it is good to rely on good music, to help guide us to a smile." Aho. This music guides me to a smile today.


Appreciation

I am grateful for the various ways this event stretches me as a music maker and a generous listener. I enjoy the surprises, discovering songs that inspire me. I get the impression we're all making progress, sharing our art with the world, making steady steps toward global harmony. And our unique way of honoring artists is centered around live music. How fun!

HiveOpenMic39b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 39 is underway now.

This week's invitation is: “Drop.”


💛 🌞 🌜 🌟

Enjoy Live Music? Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🦢 🕊️ 🌿 🌺

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency