I Like My Country But...

I talk a lot about how I'm tired of my country but this doesn't translate to me hating my place of origin. I've been thinking about it and safe to say I don't hate this place, it is the system I do not like.

Most of the complaints I have about the people are what you'd complain about in any other part of the world. Though the bad people seem to be in the majority, there are good well-meaning Nigerians around here.

This place is green with talent and brains and there's so much the people have to offer if only there is a functioning system.

pexels-photo-1524235.jpeg
Pexels

I like the people and their hustling spirit when they're not trying to cheat me. I like the food and the music. I like the culture, when it's not prejudiced against women and the vulnerable.

The system makes what is meant to be a beautiful country hard to live in. The insecurity and cases of insurgency all fall back to the power-wrenching system of government. It's a bloodbath for power and the masses get to suffer.

I like my country but I don't think my country likes me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency