The Power Outage and Water Scarcity Situation

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog at this hour. There are some basic things that makes the world sweet and enjoyable for man and these are the basic needs for survival on earth.

A+ Gallery_85.jpg
Some of these basic needs include shelter, food, electricity, water, security, education, good roads, safety and so on. Once at least one or more of these are met in our life's as humans, it will be a big relief. My focus is on electricity and water in this post. Sit back, relax and enjoy all that I have packaged for your reading pleasure.
A+ Gallery_56.jpg
The importance of electricity cannot be overemphasized in a typical home. There have been power outage in my locality for about five days and it has not been restored yet. The power outage have made a lot of people result to the use of generators to power their houses and blaring the sound of generator sets have become the new norm - noise and air pollution at its peak.

As if that was not enough, the water in our reservoir got exhausted about two days ago and everyone have source for water for themselves. The lucky ones, which I am a part of, have some water in our plastic drums which lasted for some few days. It got exhausted last night and I had to rush out to get some water from "mai ruwa" that sells water on trucks.
A+ Gallery_83.jpg
"Mai ruwa" literally means someone that is in charge of water. They sell water in yellow kegs arranged in a truck which they push about the streets. I got up as early as possible this morning to go in search of them but it took me about 30 minutes before I spotted on. Unluckily, he told me has been booked and he's going to deliver to the person's house.

A+ Gallery_55.jpg

I had to wait for some minutes before I finally spotted another one who decided to take all the time before he attended to me. In his words, "oga, I go smoke my cigar finish before I fetch your water o" (meaning he will smoke his cigarettes before attending to me). I had no choice, right? I waited for him to have his "breakfast" before we headed to the water source where he fetched all his 10 kegs.

He pushed it to my house in a short trip that took about 3 minutes. I offloaded them in my plastic drum, paid him #300 ($0.73). Each keg cost #30.
A+ Gallery_58.jpg
I will have to make do with the water I have for the mean time, hoping power will be restored so that we can pump water into our reservoir.

All contents are originally written by me, @williams-owb

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Williams Oluseyi is a Linguist by discipline from one Africa's Most Prestigious Citadel of Learning, Obafemi Awolowo University. He developed interest for blogging at very early stage which motivated him to study English Language in College. He is a prolific writer, an inquisitive and judicious reader, to say the least. To get his daily bread, he is currently working in a Logistics company in Nigeria.
A Gallery_20.jpg

Thanks For Reading My Blog Post 📝📖🗒️
Follow me on REDDIT
Follow me on TWITTER

CAMERA SPECIFICATIONS

6.0"
1080x2160 pixels

Vote, Reblog, Follow

Let's discuss in the comment section

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency