No Freedom In Freetown

pexels-photo-7222121.jpeg
Image source

Good day my people. I just feel like relating my experience of yanga dey sleep, trouble go wake am today here. I had set out early to meet an appointment at Ikeja today. On getting to the garage where I would board a bus to that part of Lagos, the immediate bus had been filled up, I became the very first passenger in the next bus, so I took the front seat. I wasn't happy at first but I calmed after a little while accepting it to be my fate for the day. A little time later, our bus got filled and we moved.

The first police checkpoint got me amazed. The first bus that had gone ahead of us had been held captive. Our bus was halted too. So, we had to park behind the bus the had gone ahead of us. Everyone was bothered and we began to ask for reasons why the bus was halted by the policemen. Some naughty responses started flying here and there. First, the policemen were asking for an increment from #100 to #200 of passage toll that commercial buses would pay each time they drive pass that check point. I went berserk upon hearing this.

pexels-photo-1064840.jpeg
Image source

It wasn't like any misconduct or driving ethics was broken by the driver neither did the bus missed any document required by the government. This was the height of a corrupt system I thought.

One thing that flashed my mind immediately was that we are still nursing the injuries of the #ENDSARS protest and yet the police have not turned a new leaf even after that experience. Since no one wanted to cause more trouble, we stood there for over two hours waiting for the next action. Two glorious hours was wasted for about twenty people because of #100 bribe.
Finally, we moved. I could not utter a word because I was practically boiling in anger. I just kept asking myself some questions. How did we get here? How many years will it take for us to get back to our original honour and rank?
A country as giant as this must not go down the drain sake of the untold corruption eating up every parastatal. We must do something.

pexels-photo-1117485.jpeg
Image source

As if that wasn't enough, I alighted at the last bus stop to board a cab to my final destination while hoping to beat the heavy traffic that is looming during lunchtime. Just there, as I was waiting for the Uber I ordered, a mammoth crowd gathered behind me, though I was at a safe distance, a young fellow was dying in his pool of blood.

He was stabbed by a violent cult group operating in the area for wearing all black clothes.

This was when I got shivers all over me. A human being stabbed for wearing what he chooses to wear. That sounds weird but it happened.

The best bet is that there isn't freedom in Freetown. When you walk, always watch your back because dangerous things happens every time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency